"Mad World" 2004-02-20 - 3:00 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

so I watched Donnie Darko tonight

interesting movie

I'm gonna have to watch it again to really wrap my head around it

but it gets huge points for including two of my favorite things:

Evil Dead and Joy Division

Donnie takes Gretchen to go see Evil Dead

and at the party, when Gretchen first arrives; 'Love Will Tear Us Apart' is playing

it was really well directed

and when his friends were talking about the Smurfs, I was like: "but Papa Smurf didn't create Smurfette, Gargamel did!"

and then Donnie turned around and said that and I was like: "excellent"

so that was cool

in other news: it's a good time for music

first, a label called 'Merge Records' is re-issuing the first three Dinosaur Jr albums

which is mind-numbingly awesome

words can't describe

second, a long time ago; when I was first getting into Built to Spill, I did a search for any Built to Spill songs; and downloaded whatever

one of the songs I got was an accoustic performance of a song called 'Liquid Boy'

and it's by far one of the best songs I've ever heard

so I looked all over, but I couldn't find it on any of Built to Spill's albums, under any name

so I figured it was some kind of live cover; and looked all over the internet for the band who originally played it

but no dice

so I just kinda gave up

but last night, out of boredom, I searched for it again; and found out that it wasn't a Built to Spill song

but rather a song by Doug Martsch's previous band; a semi-grunge group called 'Treepeople'

and although they're beyond 'underground'; and their albums are rarer than fuck,

they can still be purchased at the website of their record label

including the one that has 'Liquid Boy' on it

I heard a little sample of the full electric version of 'Liquid Boy' and actually got a little aroused

as soon as I get the money, I'm buying that album first thing

so that's cool

plus, this saturday(in theory) I'm going to see X with Robyn

then on sunday I'm going to see Tokyo Sex Destruction with Ruben

and on March 9th I'm going to see the Yeah Yeah Yeahs with both of them

now I just wish I could go see A Perfect Circle; because I've heard they absolutely rock live

and I don't need to be told how awesome Maynard sounds live

his voice is absolutely indescribable live; it exposes CDs as the pale imitations they are

APC played Lollapalooza, which made a stop in Pheonix; and it's always been a goal of mine to attend Lollapalooza

but I didn't have the Goddamn money to get tickets

which pisses me off

but it's too late now

but at least my band is doing well[theoretically]

I dropped off a "drummer wanted" flyer at another music shop today; and the owner said he had a friend who might be interested

so I'm feeling cautiously optimistic about that

and plus, we've got about 5 original songs now; along with 5 covers

and we're waiting for a drummer before we go any further

but I've got ideas for about 3 more songs to work on once we get a drummer

which (as you've already figured out if you know basic math)equals 8 original songs;

which makes for a good EP right there

and a 13 song set-list

I've got high hopes for The Remaining

I just have to pray that things don't go as horrendously wrong as they have in the past

here's hopin'...

Sweet Dreams