"Something Against You" 2004-02-13 - 4:29 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

some days I just hate everything

I just watched Driven: Ashton Kutcher on VH1; because I had nothing else to do

and that, my friends, is about as low as you can get

my dad's car is busted, so it's in the shop; and he took my car to work

so I can't leave the house

all the videogames I want to play I have to wait until dark to play

for the atmosphere

and I can't even write music because I'm pissed at my bandmate

he's bitching that the songs are too long

that he wants them to be more 'punk', which means 'shorter'

after all the fucking talking we did about not limiting ourselves to a genre; and trying to be something new and different

he wants to make the songs shorter to be more punk

you don't get ahead in music by being the same

you have to be new and different

and it's not just about getting ahead

I want to create music; not just play it

this is art to me

I don't want to just stand around hammering out power chords for two minute intervals just so I can be on stage

as much as I admire the Ramones that's not what I want to be

I'm trying to create art

and he wants the songs to be short and 'punk'

he's always talking about Interpol

but their songs are like 7 fucking minutes long

'Stella' is longer than fuck

and he's bitching at me that my 3 minute songs are too fucking long

that pisses me off to no end

and I'm doing all the damn work

I came up with the name, the logos, the lyrics; and I wrote the vast majority of the music as well

and now he's asking me to write a song about unrequited love

which pisses me off a little

'cause he's got a girlfriend; and he's worried about unrequited love

unrequited love is the fucking recurring theme of my life

and he, who has a girlfriend, is asking me to write about it for him

fuck

plus he wants it to sound like "The New" by Interpol

which is another long-ass song

I should make it 7+ minutes like Interpol; see what he says then

that just pisses me off that he talks about being new and not limiting ourselves; and then he bitches about the songs not being 'punk' enough

and even though I don't think I'd break up the band over this alone

I can't break up the band over anything;

since even though all the creative stuff is mine

all the material shit is his

he's got the practice room, he's got the PA system, he's got the drum set, he's got the recording equipment

if I say "fuck you" I'm back to just me and my guitar in my tiny ass, no garage house

plus he insulted Tool at practice yesterday

he was just fucking around

but still, you don't insult Tool in my presence

they may not be on my 'Top 5' in my profile anymore;

but they're still one of the best bands ever, and insulting Tool around me is about a million points off for you

the fucker

I don't know

I'm pissed at my bandmate and disgusted with my self

I want a fucking cigarette but I can't smoke at home and I can't leave to go have one since I've got no car

life sucks, boys and girls

Adios Amigos