"Girlfriend In A Coma" 2004-02-03 - 2:59 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

what an interesting day

today Ruben and I had the closest thing to a fight we've had since starting this whole "band" thing

over lyrics, actually

see, we tried sitting down and writing lyrics to a song we had written

and found out that we differ on our philosophies toward lyrics

see, he likes simple; punk-y type lyrics like the Ramones and whatnot

lyrics that just say what they mean and describe one situation

lyrics that you could just sit down and write

I, on the other hand, like more complex, deep, cryptic lyrics

lyrics that, as I've found, you cannot just sit down and write

so he used the argument everyone uses when you discuss how hard it is to write lyrics:

"well, when you sit and listen to most bands' lyrics; you're like: 'man, these lyrics suck'"

so I responded with the logical response:

"I don't want to be one of those bands with sucky lyrics. I want to be one of those bands were you listen to the lyrics and think: 'man, these lyrics are awesome'"

bands like Tool or Joy Division

where the lyrics could mean any number of things; all of which could apply perfectly to almost anyone listening

which is hard to do

it takes a lot of though; creativity, and inspiration

creativity comes and goes[and I've been feeling creative lately]

but inspiration is disgustingly hard to find

some people can just walk down the street and find inspiration wherever they look

but it doesn't come that easy for me

calling things at practice today an "argument" or even a "heated discussion" would be greatly exaggerating

but we were at odds about something for a change

so basically I ended up "pulling rank" as it were, and just saying: "I'm the singer; I'll write the lyrics by myself"

so now I have to write the lyrics by myself

ironically, I found inspiration on the drive home

so hopefully I can mold that into lyrics and we won't have anymore problems with it

in other news,

I think Stephanie might be annoyed with me for flaking out of the picnic on sunday

or possibly some other reason that I'm too stupid to catch

but oh well

hopefully she'll have more time to hang out in the near future and we can be bestest buddies again

Adios Amigos

here's the latest version of The Quiz:

your life has just become a movie. fill in the songs that would play during the following:

opening credits: Disorder by Joy Division

party scene: Eighties by Killing Joke

falling in love scene: Noisy Summer by The Raveonettes

love love scene: Maps by The Yeah Yeah Yeahs

after a break-up driving scene: Stella Was A Diver And She Was Always Down by Interpol

driving to make-up the break-up scene: Girlfriend In A Coma by The Smiths

plain old driving scene: A.M. 180 by Grandaddy

chase scene: Reptilia by The Strokes

fight scene: Main Offender by The Hives

funeral scene: Waltz #2 by Elliott Smith

closing credits: Time For Heroes by The Libertines