"Maps" 2004-02-01 - 3:46 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

***I wrote this entry at 4 AM; but my internet was fucking up so I couldn't post it. Now here it is at 4 PM:***

I hate nights like this

where no matter how tired I am, sleep just will not come

but there's... a certain... freedom to nights like this

when the rest of the world is asleep and it's just you

4 AM when the lights are on and you're still wearing your clothes and it's just a continuation of your day is a different 4 AM than when the lights are off and when you're in your sleep attire and it's now Night

when you're supposed to be asleep

and all the concerns and worries of the day and your life are irrelevant from your position in your room; in the darkness

and I hate nights like this because I know

when I do finally get to sleep, like I want to; it's just a one way trip to a time when my responsibilities and concerns are crushing

and the freedom and detachment I'm feeling right now will be nothing but a faded memory

and I can't stand the thought of not feeling like this

I don't know

earlier today I had a new Hershey's Smore Bar that my mom brought home

and all I can really think about is: "damn, I wish I had another one of those"

tomorrow/later today Stephanie and Co. are going on a picnic to one of the local mountains at 8 AM

I would need to get up at 6 to get dressed and meet them there in time to leave

I took a sleeping pill and feel asleep at about 1

woke up at 3

and I'm still up

and now I think I'm just going to say 'fuck it'

it's just easier

I don't know

I'm kinda proud of myself for not agonizing over it

but I feel shitty for changing my mind at the last minute like this

oh well

the other day I discovered the Yeah Yeah Yeahs

yeah, I'd heard them before

but I hadn't really gotten into them

then I caught the very end of 'Maps' on MTV; and I became obsessed with it

I had to see the whole video

so I went and downloaded it, and I just became enthralled

it's just so beautiful

with the distorted lights and the way Karen O. looks like she's on the verge of tears as she does her 'hold-the-mic-at-different-angles' stage act

"beautiful" is the only word that even comes close

I went out and bought Fever to Tell later that day

and I've watched the 'Maps' video more times in the last two days than I've watched Salival or Music Bank since I got them

I have to admit, their earlier stuff[which was a little more harsh and chaotic] didn't impress me much

but the more produced sound of Fever to Tell is amazing

I'm so glad I'm [in theory]going to see them live on the 9th

but yeah

speaking of music

311 did a cover of 'Lovesong' by The Cure; and it's on the radio now

now, I like 311

and I like the Cure

and 311 covering the Cure has potential

but they did it reggae

and they did that song

that song has been kinda personal to me

but I'm sure it's kinda personal to everyone who hears it

and doing it reggae just really bites

so now I have to hate 311

I don't know

I'm tired and hungry and insomnia-ridden

due to my nocturnal habits that have developed since I finished school,

it's been a long time since I've had insomnia

I'd forgotten how bittersweet it feels

it's been a long time

Sweet Dreams

Pack up

I've strayed

Enough

Oh, say say say

Oh, say say say

Oh, say say say

Oh, say say say

Oh, say say say

Wait, they don't love you like I love you

Wait, they don't love you like I love you

Ma-a-a-a-ps, wait!

They don't love you like I love you

Made off

Don't stray

My kind's your kind

I'll stay the same

Pack up

Don't stray

Oh, say say say

Oh, say say say

Oh, say say say

Oh, say say say

Oh, say say say

Wait! they don't love you like I love you

Wait! they don't love you like I love you

Ma-a-a-aps, wait!

They don't love you like I love you

Wait! they don't love you like I love you

Wait! they don't love you like I love you

Ma-a-a-aps, wait!

They don't love you like I love you

-Maps

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs