"the king and queen of siam" 2004-01-16 - 4:26 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

what a bloody day I had

I had one of those days where you look back at stuff that happened and think: "that happened today? ...Jesus"

as a result I'm tired

that combined with the amount of stuff I have to talk about is probably going to result in my not describing the stuff that happened in the detail I wanted to

but bear with me

so today I went to get my car emission-tested

first I stopped at Zia to drop off a job application and pick up a few albums

[Elliott Smith's Either/Or and Frank Black and the Catholics' self titled]

so I check the bullettin board where musicians seeking other musicians post flyers

and I notice one that says: "seeking Guitarist/Singer/Songwriter" and I think: "gee, looks like it's for me" so I check and the influences are a bunch of indie punk stuff that I mostly hadn't heard of

but Interpol was amongst them so I figured it was close enough

so I grabbed one of the tabs and went on with my day

the emissions test was pretty nerve-racking

going in I was like: "my car'll pass; it'll be fine"

but as I got closer and closer to the test-place, my confidence diminished

and when I get in the place the guys testing my car are making hand signals at eachother

and I'm just thinking: "fuck, I blew it I blew it I blew it I blew it"

but surprisingly, my car passed

thus furthering its existence

my car is proving to be one tough motherfucker

and my worry for its longevity is turning into admiration for its stamina

so yeah,

then I went to the mall, where I proved how much of an idiot I am by blowing another $50 on a new videogame

apparently "unemployed" hasn't sunk into my vocabulary yet

I'm such a jackass

the only real consolation is that I didn't blow $100 on a new system

but there's still time

once I got home, I sent an e-mail to the guy from the flyer

then I went to the dmv website to renew my car's registration

and while I was there I registered to vote

thus living up to my word that I would register to vote specifically to vote Bush's ass out of office

although I have to admit, his new idea for the space program is the first thing he's done I actually agree with

the fact is I would be voting against Bush if his opponent was the re-animated corpse of Lennin

[of course, if Lennin's corpse did re-animate and run for office in the US; I'd be voting for him on general principle no matter what party he ran for; but that's neither here nor there]

the fact that this Howard Dean chap is looking like a good candidate is just icing on the cake

but moving on

after a while of doing nothing

the guy from the flyer e-mailed me back

said he wanted to meet tonight

as chronicled in my previous entry

it turns out he wasn't a sex pervert

we sat and talked for an hour and a half

he's 24; which isn't really a big deal

and I get the feeling english isn't his first language

but when he came to talk to me he had his shit together

it was like a job interview

within five minutes of meeting me he started asking me questions

and he explained his own experience and situation so well that there was nothing else really for me to ask

it was bizarre

it was like a combination between a blind-date and a job interview

the two most nerve-racking things I can think of

but I was completely calm

anyway;

the two of us are really 'on the same page'

our ideas of how to run a band and our work ethic are just so spot-on that it shocked me

I mean, we're a perfect fit

I'm a little wary that since we're so alike; the idea of two control-freaks working together seems bad

but I think our ideas and plans are so similar that it won't be a problem

two control-freaks working towards the same goal = a quick road to that goal

but the two of us citing bands as examples of our influences and such was pretty fun

it was a big litany of: "do you know this band?" "no; do you know this band?" "no"

we found common ground on maintream[and practically mainstream] bands like the Ramones; Interpol, and the Misfits

and he didn't know who Dinosaur Jr was

but he did know who both Joy Division and the Raveonettes were

so that was some big points there

but he's got a place to practice downtown and a pa system and a drum machine; and he's just ready to fucking go

we're going to get together saturday, and honestly I can't wait

I'm just a little nervous we'll get together and we won't mesh musically

that would suck

we're such a perfect fit otherwise that that would just, well; suck

I'm too tired to think of a better example

so I don't know

I'm excited about that

but we're going to be hanging out until around 5 saturday; so I don't know what my friends are doing then

but I'm hoping we can get together friday/tomorrow/today[depending on when you're reading this]

so if my friends don't give me a call by around four or so I'll call them

I haven't seen them in close to two weeks since I was occupied last weekend; and since I'm busy most of the day saturday we may not be able to do anything then

although my new band-mate can't do anything on sundays

so I'll be free then

I don't know if he's religious or he's got work or what

he just said it was "special"; so I'll be free sundays

until I get a job of course, then it'll be fun juggling all three

but I'd rather have stuff to juggle than just be sitting around with a clear schedule

then all I'll need is a girl and I'll be a happy camper

[for a while at least]

Sweet Dreams