"Built to Spill" 2003-12-30 - 4:51 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I'm so sick of hearing/reading myself bitch

but I need to vent somewhere

I feel bad for you poor souls who read this

assuming any of you still do

it seems like I got dealt one crappy hand in life

with the worst card by far being my ability to deal with things and take action

I got a real shitty one there

I try to tell myself that it's just saratonin levels in my brain; that it's not my fault I'm so pathetic

God I hope that's the reason

I'm 19

that's still pretty young

but 20's not

20 means a young adult

do you have any idea of the things I thought I'd have done by 20?

I thought I'd have a girlfriend; be in college; have a steady job; be living on my own; be in a band

but look at me

still a virgin, only had one girlfriend[for about two months], haven't graduated high school, still unemployed, still living with my parents, no band, and have a whopping two friends

[well, two friends I see and make plans with anyway; sorry Evan]

I'm fucking 19 years old and it feels like my life is over and wasted

at 19

and I know I can't change without help; but I don't know where to find help

I want to call up my therapist and beg her for medication

but she'll want me to talk about it and stuff

and I don't want to talk

I just want pills to put my Goddamn seratonin levels the way they should be and hope that I can be a better person than I've been for the past 19 years

and if it's not the seratonin levels...

if I go on Prozac or Lithium and it doesn't work...

if I'm stuck this way forever, what kind of life will I have?

working some shit job, living in some little shitty house alone; for the rest of my life

that's not a life

that's going through the motions while your body decays with you still inside it

I'd choose death over that without a second thought

but we all now I'm too bloody weak for that

I bitch about it and bitch about it and bitch about it

get my friends all pissed off at me

how the fuck do you guys cope?

what makes you decide that life is worth living? that there is a reason to stick around?

I don't know

I know what I thought the reason was

I just don't think I'll get it

and it's all my fault

there's no reason to blame anyone else

in the end, I'm the one who's not bettering myself or situation

I'm the one who's not doing what I want

I'm the one who's "built to spill"; designed to fail

by my own hand

funny, I wasn't so depressed when I started...

Sweet Dreams

built to spill

you are pleased precariously

temporarily filled

you will

spill until lower expectations

momentarily chilled

you will

built to spill

because at the time it seemed

like an acceptable deal

you feel

you feel

you feel like you are on the verge of something real

on a roll and built to spill

this is how you'll always feel it's no big deal I'm ashamed of you my friend

would you please

would you please I'm to blame for this my friend

would you please

would you please built to spill

carry out your function when occasionally filled

you will

you will

you will come alive to something real then realize you're built to spill

this is how you'll always feel it's no big deal

-Built to Spill

Built to Spill