"Something About Today" 2003-12-18 - 2:39 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I had one awesomely shitty day

that's really the only way I can put it

first, I wake up, and my dad has taken his car out shopping

making me late for work for the second day in a row

so I sit around waiting for him

I go out and check my car, just to make sure; and it didn't start

so my dad gets home, starts screaming at me the moment he gets in the door about how I should've just taken my car

despite the fact that he knows it's broken and has a tendency to die very often

I tell him it wouldn't start this morning; he gets pissed off and goes outside

and starts it on the first fucking try

so I hop in my car and take off all pissed off, figuring "ok, asshole. When this thing dies, you're gonna have to drive out here in your car and get me"

but, by some Christmas Miracle; my car ran fine

I drove it to work

drove it to lunch and back

and drove it home

worked like a charm

I'm speechless

and I'm torn between trying to see if I can use it to get around again, or try not to push my luck and keep fighting with my dad over his car

I don't know

I really don't

but back to my day chronologically

I got to work super-pissed,

both at my dad and at myself

and then immediately had to swallow all that rage and put on a happy face for the customers

that hurt

and this was one of the worst days at work I've ever had

it seems like every other customer I found a new way to fuck up

I quit Eegee's because I had a day like today; and couldn't get off work the next day

fortunately, I do have off work tomorrow

I don't know

I got through the day by remembering a line from The Critic:

Jay: "they really like me here in France"

Duke: "maybe that's becuase you look like Babar, King of the Elephants!"

and just the way Duke says that makes me laugh

and also a scene from Futurama;

when the Niblonians are explaining to Fry why the Evil Brains can't detect him[because he's so stupid] they show this weird clip on a screen behind them of Fry trying to eat a pineapple on a string without using his hands

and it's just so random and bizarre and so idiotic that I just crack up at the image

anyway

slowly I fought my way through the day

and now it's over

I'm looking forward to tomorrow very badly

it's been the carrot on the stick getting me through the week

and I just pray that nothing fucks up

tomorrow I have off, I get paid, I'm going to finish my Christmas shopping, I'm going to get my hair cut, and I'm going to do the santa thing with my friends

as long as nothing goes wrong tomorrow should rock

and I just pray nothing goes wrong

because I need this

I really really do

I don't know

tomorrow I'll have a good story, either way

Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want