"European Son" 2003-12-11 - 2:13 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I had an interesting day

first I rear-ended some guy while trying to get to work

then I did it again in a car

*thu-thump crash*

luckily the cars just kind've bumped; neither one was even dented

which was disgustingly lucky

I did one of those things where you stand up in the car with both feet on the brake and trying to put as much force on it as possible

and all I can think of as I saw his bumper getting closer and closer and then too-close was:

"shit, I'm going to ruin my record of not fucking up while driving"

but luckily no damage was done

then work sucked

I know I say that a lot

but it was super-boring

I mean it was fucking dead as disco

those five hours lasted longer than most nine-hour shifts I have

but on the other hand I'd rather be bored out of my skull for five hours than have a shitload of customers with shitloads of stuff coming in for five hours

so yeah, it sucked but not as hard as it could've

but tomorrow I have a nice day shift

the sun will actually be up after I leave work

anyway

after I leave work; my fucking car dies in the middle of the damn road

well, in the left turn-lane of an intersection; not just in the middle of the road

but still; the point is it died

so I call AAA, and then my mom

and while I'm waiting for the tow-truck I have a cigarette

and when I called my mom, I told her not to come get me, I was fine

so after I finish the first cigarette, I consider having another, and that was where my luck did a complete 180

I decided not to have another cigarette

and about two minutes later; my mom pulls up

if I had had that second cigarette; she would've caught me smoking

and that would've made my night a whole lot worse

but as it was everything worked out

as my mom is pulling up behind my poor, dead car; a cop pulls up behind her

after a brief conversation, he tells me to put my car in nuetral; and he'll push it to the gas-station across the street at the next green light

so I go to start my car/put the key in the position as if it were started to put it in nuetral

and it starts to turn just a little bit more than it had when it was dead

so I hold it there; and do one of those both-feet-on-the-pedal-standing-in-the-car deals from before; this time on the gas

and with a great burst of smoke, the car started

at the gas station I said goodbye to the cop; and then I drove home

and even though I'm now forced to take on the problems my car has

when it's all said and done my car is not dead

just horribly mangled

and that's such good news I can't even put it into words

if that car died, I would be fucked in every way conceivable

but it's alive

and even though paying for repairs is going to make my paychecks worth even less;

it beats the living hell out of trying to find a new car I can afford

so thank God

and that's about it

I have to get up at 8:30 for work tomorrow; so really I should already be asleep

I wanted to bitch about my friends not seeming to take my santa idea as seriously as I am

but after finding out my car is still clinging to life it seems kind've small

I was planning to go by myself if they couldn't come anyway; so I'll just have to deal

lousy un-comitted party-poopers

at least I'll look as horrible/frightening as I possibly can

and have the pictures to show for it

so whatever

I need sleep

Sweet Dreams