"Jingle All The Way" 2003-12-07 - 3:31 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

well, first, freakscene.net isn't working again

which you probably already know if you've tried to send me an e-mail

hopefully it'll start working again soon

second; whoever's in charge of making things happen tomorrow[sunday], call me as soon as you can

I have work at 5 so I probably have to head for home at 4; so...

third, on to tonights' entry:

I didn't really have a bad day today

I just had a really annoying day

first I went to the army surplus store,

where I found out that the leather jackets they have are a couple hundred dollars more than I remember them being

fuckers

then I went to various places, and got my Christmas shopping more or less done

that's right; it took a large majority of my paycheck but I got my Christmas Shopping done in one day

and I really hate the mall now

I disliked it before

now I hate it

you wouldn't think it'd be so fucking crowded this long before Christmas

I mean, I know it's only a few weeks but still

we better add a few hours onto our plans for Friday to allow time to find parking

it reminded me of that Xion[or whatever] scene in the Matrix 2

all those sweaty-ass people pressed against eachother and writhing around

I would've given anything for a katana and impunity

but now I have all the Mega Man figures except for Zero; a few other things I needed

and my Christmas Shopping done

now, up above I said "more or less" because I still need to get together with Evan and decide wether or not we'll exchange gifts this year

I like Evan, but I just don't see him that often

I see him about as often as Misty nowadays

and I don't think I'll be getting her a present

although I like her too

we just don't see eachother often enough

and also, my mom got a desk job working for some medical place around here

and one of the things she asked for was "stuff for her desk"

and so when we get our pictures taken with Santa this friday; I'm going to purchase a frame for one of them as well and give that to her as a gift

I'm only sorta-counting that because it's something I was going to do for myself and plus it's really more of a joke gift

she's most likely going to take that picture out and put another one in the frame

so yeah, after that I'll have just enough money for gas and food until next payday

which I will hopefully be able to start a bank account with

I don't know

as usual[I think] I got more for my friends than I did for my family

because honestly, I like them better

this was also the first time[I think] where I bought people stuff without the benefit of a list to work from

so there's that additional "do they already have this? will they like it?" air to the proceedings

I don't know

work was pretty annoying today too

although, these two old ladies came in with about the most groceries I think I've ever seen

between the two of them they had like, 256 items

one lady had 196; and the other had 60 or so

they had three shopping carts filled to the brim

and I mean that literally

it was like they were doing their grocery shopping for the rest of their life

as if their doctor had told them they had cancer earlier that day; and that they only had six months to a year to live

and they just decided to get all the grocery shopping out of the way

it was astounding

anyway,

I'm tired

I'm Sure I'll Have Something Funny Tomorrow

Five Types of Wal-Mart Customers Who Suck:

1: People Who Take Forever To Pay. I just busted my ass loading your shit into bags as fast as I could so the other poor folks behind you could get out of here with some semblance of speed; and you've gotta stand there and take your fucking sweet-time writing out your check or pushing the buttons on the credit-thing while the other customers get angrier and angrier that it takes so long to shop at Wal-Mart.

2: People Who Tie The Tops of Bags Closed. It doesn't matter, you've gotta open the damn things when you get home anyway, it's not like the groceries are spherical; if the bags do tip over they'll just lay there. These people are even worse than the people who stand there and don't move the bags at all. Because they're right there, they could be loading the bags into their cart; but instead they're doing something that gets the bags in the cart with roughly the same speed as if they didn't do a damn thing.

3: People Who Put Bagged Vegetables In Other Bags. Carrotts and Lettuce and a few other things come in bags already. There is no fucking reason to put that bag inside another little grocery bag. It's hard enough straightening out the bar-code to scan them by themselves. Putting one of those wrinkly-ass vegetable bags over it is not only superfluous; but it makes it damn near impossible to scan.

4: People Who Wait Until They've Got Everything Rung-Up To Realize They Don't Have Any Money. These people don't piss me off as much. But it holds up the line like nobody's business. First I have to try their card three or four times; then I go to call a supervisor; then they decide wait, I'll just go the ATM; then everyone has to stand there while they walk off to the ATM and try to get money out, which never works by the way, and every time but once they just wind up walking out and leaving their shit all over my register.

5: People Who Buy A Lot Of Shit. Now, there's no good argument for this one; sometimes you just need to buy a lot of shit. But they suck so bad to ring up. You ring it up and ring it up and ring it up and it just keeps coming and coming. And by the time you're asking them to pay you're exhausted. They're exhausting and they take forever. And they make my job suck super-hard. I swear, if all the customers had around 40 or so items, and the customers who had the very most had around 70; I don't think I'd ever complain about my job. But you just get one person after another with over 100 items; and this one has a shitload of price-matches; and when it's over you want to sit and cry. Bastards.