"Tomorrow" 2003-11-16 - 1:55 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I don't even know where to begin

something's gone wrong with my computer

it's nothing major; but it's gotten really slow, and the internet radio stopped working

I don't know what the problem is but it sucks

anyway

I got my schedule today

and, of course, they scheduled me tomorrow

I knew that was gonna happen

that really pisses me off

I tell them I can start work on monday, so they schedule me saturday and sunday and give me monday off

I don't think they like me

it bothers me because Sunday was the only day I cared about

after that, the more hours the better

but I didn't want to work sunday

and they scheduled me sunday

damnit

anyway, I posted my full schedule in my livejournal

but the gist of it is:

I'm off this friday; and I don't have to go in until 7 on Saturday[but I'm probably going to sleep in]

I have off on Thanksgiving(but we probably won't be able to do anything then anyway)

and I don't have my schedule past next friday, so...

I don't know

I did find out something today, though

I found out school actually did prepare me for life in the real world

when I was in it I thought that it wasn't teaching me anything I could apply to real life

but today I found out that it taught me to be able to sit in one place for hours and hours and not go insane

I swear, orientation was sooooo boring today

by the end I was zoning out so bad my daydreams were running together

on the upside, though; Wal-Mart is a really nice place to work

they treat their employees well

and in the back there's tons of pictures of Sam Walton, the founder of Wal-Mart

and I swear to God, he looks like an unholy combination of Bob Barker and Hugh Heffner

Pimpest. Man. Ever.

makes me understand why she calls herself "Jerri O. Phile"

[think about it real hard]

anyway

sorry, I lost my train of thought on that one

it was a doozy

umm...

I could go on about other little things that happened today, but they were pretty boring

payday at Wal-Mart is this thursday; but since we[myself and the other new employees at the orientation today] only have a week of work; we won't be getting a paycheck

but this week's hours will go towards the next paycheck in three weeks

I did some math based on my schedule and the wage I'll be getting

and I figured that my first paycheck will be in the area of $700

just thinking about it still puts me at a loss for words

of course, that's guessing about my hours for the week after next; and before taxes

it's most likely going to be in the mid $600's

but still

I mean, I'm going to go from having just barely enough money to buy cigarettes

to having SIX HUNDRED-PLUS FUCKING DOLLARS

I'm not shallow enough to make a joke about that getting me aroused

[but I am shallow enough to do that about old men, apparently...]

but that certainly gets me excited

I can start a bank account with $300

and still have enough left over to buy myself a good leather jacket at the army surplus store, a few new effects pedals for my guitar, and nice Christmas gifts for my friends and family

ok, maybe not quite that much

but damn close

damn close

and I'm assuming that I've overestimated how much I'll be getting

if I'm wrong about that...

oh, man

anyway, moving along

the other thing is that I'm feeling kind of smothered by my work schedule

like, I kind of assumed over these few days that I was just really busy; and then I'll go back to sitting around most of the time and only going to Wal-Mart in small intervals

but seeing my schedule today snapped me back to reality

I didn't realize quite how life-altering this was

and I'm not really scared

or complaining

but it's just... I didn't realize before

and it's just a shock

to know that how I've been living for the past few years is done with

[assuming, of course they keep me on after the holidays; which I really hope for]

I'd gotten so used to that way of life that to see it go; even though I didn't really like it; is just a blow

I don't know

in other news;

I feel really weird tonight

because beneath my humerous, candy exterior

lies a chocolatey center of pain

and I seriously feel really happy but really depressed at the same time

it's so bizarre

I just feel so lonely

and I want to say: "I miss this person" or "I miss that person"

but no one person sounds right

I miss them all and then some

I feel so empty inside

like something very important is missing

and I don't know what it is

and I just feel like there's a lump in my soul, and I'm going to start crying my eyes out any second

but at the same time I'm in a rather good mood

which is...

beyond words

and the M&M metaphor at the beginning of this topic was very true

because it feels like the depression is in my chest, just a big hole

like the girl in A Perfect Circle's 'Weak and Powerless' video

just this horrific black hole in the middle of my chest

but outside of that I feel fine

even happy

it's so intriguing that I've gone from just mentioning it to rambling about it in wonderment

the only word for it is bizarre

but whatever

I'm sure I'll have some great stories after my first real day of work tomorrow

Tomorrow, Tomorrow...

It's twelve o'clock, and it's a wonderful day,

I know you hate me, but I'll ask anyway,

Won't you come with me, to a place in a little town,

The only way to get there's to go straight down,

There's no bathroom, and there is no sink,

The water out of the tap is very, hard to drink,

Very hard to drink,

You, wait til tomorrow,

You, wait til tomorrow,

You say that money, isn't everything,

But I'd like to see you live without it,

You think you can keep on going living like a king,

Oohh babe, but I strongly doubt it,

Very hard to drink,

Very hard to drink,

You gonna wait too, fat boy,

Fat boy, wait til tomorrow,

You gonna wait too, fat boy,

Fat boy, wait til tomorrow,

You, wait til tomorrow,

You, wait til tomorrow,

You gonna wait too, fat boy,

Fat boy, wait til tomorrow,

You gonna wait too, fat boy,

Fat boy, wait til tomorrow.

-Tomorrow

Silverchair