"Halloween Day" 2003-10-31 - 2:32 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

it's Halloween

officially, now

it doesn't feel right

it's just not Halloween without autumn leaves and jack-o-lantern's and a chill in the air

outside my house looks the same as always:

sand and cacti and other spiky, mean desert plants that don't turn autumn colors

and sure, it's getting colder; but it's just not the same as it is in temperate climates

out there it feels different

and I don't really know why I'm writing this

other than that I felt like it

and now, without further ado:

a list of the top-ten horror movies

[inspired by what Sindy was going to do]

I know I'm going to forget a bunch

*edit*-I wrote this working from one back; just so you know

10>Pumpkin Head-

this one definitely shouldn't be in the top 10. Top 20 maybe but I just woke up and I've got better stuff to do than think of a dumb list. Still a very good movie, and contains one of the best murder techniques I've ever seen for torturing the hapless victims.

9>The Crawling Eye-

Ok, I'll admit; I just woke up, and I needed help remembering some. I'm not sure if this should be in the top 10 or not; but it is one rockin' movie. If it wasn't on the top 10 it'd be in the top 15.

8>Pet Semetary-

I'd put this higher but I haven't seen the entire movie. I know that the book was one of my all-time favorites; and the movie is very good. I can't even think of a description other than "awesome".

7>Sorority House Massacre 2-

Not scary; but this movie rocks. If you like cheesy horror movies; buy this on sight. It's like enjoyment embodied onto film. Orvile Ketchum is my hero.

6>Alien-

Almost more of a sci-fi movie; it's still one of my favorites. It's like a slasher movie in space. I'm also very suspicious that I'm named after the asshole who dies second. I'd include the sequels but, despite being one of my favorite movies; I can't bring myself to call #2 a horror movie.

5>Halloween/Halloween 2-

Invented the slasher movie. Micheal Meyers is the baddest-ass villain ever. I alternately fear him and love him. Beautifully directed; and really the only good slasher movie.

4>An American Werewolf In London-

Possibly the best werewolf movie ever made. It is quite simply perfect. There's one line that's not said right; and other than that there's absolutely nothing wrong with it.

3>The George Romero Living Dead Trilogy: Night of the Living Dead/Dawn of the Dead/Day of the Dead-

All three films are brilliant. They redefined the horror genre and literally redefined the word "zombie". They are quite simply the best.

2>Cemetary Man-

kind of an in-between horror movie; it's not really outright horror. But it does have zombies, and horror is really the only category you can put it in. But either way it's the best movie ever.

1>Evil Dead 1 + 2-

only beat out Cemetary Man because it's more pure-horror. Evil Dead is pure, raw horror. There's very few movies that can do any better. And #2 is the epitome of B Horror. It's half scary, half funny, all entertainment. Contains my favorite scene ever:

"Uh huh; that's right. Who's laughing now? WHO'S LAUGHING NOW!?! AAAAARRGH!!"

Honorable Mention>

Dimentia-

a silent, short film shot in black and white. A version was released later with narrative but trust me; get the silent one. It's the most brilliant thing I've ever seen; but it's only half an hour long.

The Green Slime-

this has the best theme song ever; and it's a nice balance of cheese and substance. But sadly this one's a sci-fi.

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre-

this film seems to get by more on it's cultural standing than it's actual substance. It takes "horror" a little too literally in that it doesn't try and scare you but horrify you with graphic visuals. It's not scary but it sure is horrifying. It gets honorable mention for it's inventiveness, but honestly I just don't like it that much.

The Booby Prize>Island of Death-

Narrowly beating out Resident Evil; the House on Haunted Hill remake; and House of the Dead. This movie sucks hard. I like Malcolm McDowell; but every copy of this movie should be burned. You can't call a movie "Island of Death" and not have fucking zombies!! It's about killer flies! What the hell kinda bullshit is that!

yeah, I forgot a lot of movies; after about five I just kinda petered out and named whatever I could think of. Leave me alone, I just woke up.

more to come later