"Unhappy Birthday" 2003-10-15 - 3:54 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I'm starting to feel kinda bitter again

mainly it's my birthday

I received four presents

and a decent amount of money; although not as much as I used to get

it's slipping through my fingers like sand

gas here, smokes there; a couple CDs and poof: practically gone

I don't know

birthdays are starting to become more depressing than happy

so I'm 19 now

huzzah

it doesn't mean anything

I haven't earned any new rights

but I am one year closer to wasting my life

I had hoped to be gone by now

my whole life I expected to be out of my house by the time I turned 19

but oh-no; things don't go the way I planned and bang: 19, still in the same situation I was at 17

except I don't see my friends as much; and I don't have to put up with high school anymore

and all that means is that the pressure to get a job is even higher and I have nothing to do

all day I've had that line from that John Lennon/Beatles[I forget which] song:

"he blew his mind out in a car"

everything just seems so pointless

everything is just stuff I have to do to keep from failing

and not doing it is boring

even music seems like something I have to do

I have to get my band together, I have to write the music; I have to make sure things go the way I want them to

and film-making seems so far off as to be nonexistant

and love...

it all seems so complicated all of a sudden

there's so much I have to do before it'll be fun

and it's so far away

could drugs be the answer?

irrelevant; I can't afford them

whenever I thought of doing drugs, I always thought of it as a form of self-abuse

when I got depressed and thought about doing heroin; it wasn't so that I could get high and not feel bad

it was so I would hurt myself by being addicted and all the shit that goes with that

the getting high seemed like the drawback

the price I would have to pay to hurt myself

but now I look at my life and wonder: why not get high?

it might be something I could enjoy

but it's all just theory

just another daydream to keep myself from thinking about life

because I can't afford to use drugs

and that's the bottom line

I'm struggling just to keep myself smoking

I can't afford to blow a few hundred bucks on a small amount of some drug-of-choice

it's been forever since I've seen even a hundred bucks

I don't know

if I go to sleep maybe I'll wake up and my life will seem worth living again

I'll be able to see the reason I go through this

the goal I work toward

because right now, I can't see it

He Blew His Mind Out In A Car

Sweet Dreams

I've come to wish you an unhappy birthday

I've come to wish you an unhappy birthday

because you're evil

and you lie

and if you should die

I may feel slightly sad

(but I won't cry)

Loved and lost

and some may say

when usuallly its Nothing

surely you're happy

it should be this way?

I say "No, I'm gonna kill my dog"

"May the lines sag heavy

and deep tonight "

I've come to wish you an unhappy birthday

I've come to wish you an unhappy birthday

because you're evil

and you lie

and if you should die

I may feel slightly sad

(But I won't cry)

Loved and lost

and some people say

when usually its Nothing

surely you're happy

it should be this way?

I said "No"

and then I shot myself

so, drink, drink, drink

and be ill tonight

from.... the one you left behind

from the one you left behind

from the one you left behind

from the one you left behind

behind

behind

behind

behind

behind

behind

Oh unhappy birthday

behind

behind

behind

behind

-Unhappy Birthday

The Smiths

why not?