"Swimming Through The Ends(Deep and Shallow)" 2003-10-06 - 4:39 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I had a pretty fun day.

Hung out with Stephanie today.

I remember that I was supposed to hang out with three people today, but one out of three aint...

well, I guess that actually is bad, when you think about it.

I had a lot of fun anyway, though. And I didn't suffer from that "I'm scared of my friends" crippling paranoia that troubled me the last few times we hung out and made me not-fun to be around.

Robyn was busy.

And Jill was un-reachable. Stephanie and I called her house many times, to no avail.

I'm not saying this as some kind of "she'd better have a good reason".

She could leave a note or something saying:

"Brett, I ditched you on purpose 'cause you're a boring asshole."

and I'd be like:

"Well, you do make a valid point."

so whatever.

After I got back from that I found out my cousin called and I hung out with them for the rest of the night.

My cousin got back from boot camp/prep school; and to my (vague)surprise I was actually really happy to see him again

I mean, it's not like I was apathetic to the whole situation; but I was surprised at how much I enjoyed his company

I had kinda built up in my mind that since he hung out with jocks and was a sort-of jock himself, and I have long hair and wear (semi)wierd clothes that he just kind've tolerated me because we were cousins and called me a fag behind my back with his friends

but now that he's back and we've hung out again I realized that I'm wrong.

we may not be close friends, but we are friends

it's a nice feeling

anyway,

on the shallow end of things, he made us(not forced us) watch this movie called "Equilibrium" starring Christian Bale

[of Velvet Goldmine and American Psycho fame]

it's obviously made in response to the Matrix; and given its budget and other qualities(that I'll get to in a moment) I'm surprised it's not better known

the plot is a shambling, Frankenstein's Monster of a movie composed of other concepts,

[The Matrix(obviously), 1984, THX 1138, and Gattaga come to mind(although I'm not sure about the last one)]

as well as several well-worn plot devices

and it gets pretty cheesy in a lot of places

but the fight scenes are awesome

they don't have any of that cheesy Hong-Kong-flying-around-wire-fighting-bullshit that's become popular ever since Crouching Tiger

[that piece of shit]

but they are well coreagraphed with amazing and surprisingly restrained use of special effects

seriously, they make the Matrix look goofy and tame in comparison

the fight scenes in this movie by far justify the weak plot

the plot is very weak, by the way

the whole time you know exactly what's going to happen, because you've seen it in countless other movies

there's really only one plot-twist I didn't see coming

and at its basis it's not much more than an ultra-violent action movie remake of The Guyver

[or was it 'the Giver'?]

and through the whole thing I had The Misfits' "We Are 138" pounding through my head almost loud enough to drown out the dialogue

but fuck do those action sequences rock

seriously

if you don't mind a little cheese and like some nice gun-violence check out Equilibrium

sorry; I didn't mean to take so much time talking about that,

but in reflection the viewing of that movie seems to be kind've the centerpiece of my evening

and I really enjoyed it

I may end up buying the movie myself simply for the action scenes

because man, do they rock

anyway,

I'm starting to get excited about my birthday

I hadn't really before, but now it's starting to hit me that: "People are actually going to buy me things!"

because really, that's all there really is to get excited about at birthdays

19 isn't any kind of milestone, except that it's one step closer to 21,

and my party is just going to be a little get-together among friends

[which, don't get me wrong; I'm looking forward to, but...]

I've been poor for some time, and sunday I'm actually going to have other people buying me the things I wish I could buy but can't afford

that's all it really takes to excite me these days

'cause my life sucks

I meant to go on in a little more detail about my "party",

which Stephanie and I discussed today,

but I've been rambling for far too long

stupid movie impressing me...

anyway, there's always tomorrow to ramble about other things

Sweet Dreams

*EDIT* - I have to make the title of this entry into a song, it just sounds too cool not to be one