"Search and Destroy" 2003-09-21 - 4:09 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

well, I suppose I'm feeling better tonight

sorry, I'm a little distracted, I'm watching Velvet Goldmine

I despise watching movies for the first time on TV,

especially good movies

but sometimes you take what you can get

anyway

this movie makes me want to play music

and speaking of which, I called Clinton today; and actually got ahold of him

and he said he does want to start a band!

HU-fucking-ZZAH!!!

finally, I will take part in the production of music once again

I just hope we get far enough to play live this time

on a related note:

I wrote the best song I've ever written today

it's just the guitar melody; so I can't post it here, and it's as-of-yet-untitled

but it's fantastic

I wish so bad I could record it and post it in here

it sounds like something you'd hear Tool or A Perfect Circle playing; not something some dirty little teenager wrote in his room at 2 in the morning

I'm so proud of it

I was going through my old notebooks and re-writing old guitar melodies I'd written, without the detriment of crap-tacular lyrics

and I found this brilliant melody I'd written but hadn't finished

it didn't have lyrics or even an order, just a collection of riffs

but it was great, I don't know why I never did anything with it

so I re-wrote it into something I'm so proud of I can't shut up about it

I'm not lying when I say I'm my own toughest critic

I hate myself and pretty much everything I create

but this is good

my songwriting

[/re-writing]

has been getting better and better

and if this is what I've got now, I can't wait to see what I'll come up with later

I hate to sound like I'm tooting my own horn here or trying to make myself look cool to my readers

(all 2 and a half of them)

but I just impressed the crap out of myself with this song

I can't believe that I wrote something so good

it's not a landmark song

I'm not saying it's going to be the next Stairway to Heaven or anything

it's not going to be something people are talking about for years to come

but it's a good song

a really good song

and I wrote it

sorry

I wouldn't be going on so long about it if I were paying attention

but I'm looking at the tv most of the time I'm typing this

I apologize

and Evan was right, by the way, Ewan McGregor does do an amazing Kurt Cobain impression

on a completely un-related note:

I'm falling in love with the Stooges

I've only heard a few of their songs, but none of htem sound the same and they all sound awesome

particularly Search and Destroy

which I know I've heard somewhere and I don't know where

anyway, this entry is long and rambling and crappy enough; so I'll just cut it

Sweet Dreams

I'm a street walking cheater with a hand full of napalm

I'm a runaway son of a nuclear A-bomb

I am the world's forgotten boy

The one who searches and destroys

Honey gotta help me please

Somebody gotta save my soul

Baby, detonate for me

Look out honey, 'cause mutant technology

Ain't got time to make no apology

Solar radiation in the dead of night

Love in the middle of a fire fight

Honey gotta strike a plan

Somebody gotta save my soul

Baby, tell em, take my mind

I'm the world's forgotten boy

The one who's searchin', searchin' to destroy

And honey I'm the world's forgotten boy

The one who's searchin' only to destroy

Forgotten boy, forgotten boy

Forgotten boy said hey forgotten boy

-Search and Destroy

Iggy + the Stooges