"Quicksand?" 2003-08-18 - 3:31 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

holy fuck

I just found out that one of my favorite songs; Dinosaur Jr's 'Quicksand' isn't Dinosaur Jr's at all

it's a David Bowie cover

once I found out it left me absolutely speachless

the lyrics in the Dinosaur Jr version are so different; and so patently theirs, that it's hard to believe it could be a cover

but it is

the orginal lyrics are somewhat World War II themed

but Dinosuar's are so radically different that there's only about two or three lines outside the chorus that are the same

I guess this isn't really important

but it's quite a big shock

anyway; look for a real entry later

Good Day

I'm closer to the Golden Dawn

Immersed in Crowley's uniform

Of imagery

I'm living in a silent film

Portraying Himmler's sacred realm

Of dream reality

I'm frightened by the total goal

Drawing to the ragged hole

And I ain't got the power anymore

No I ain't got the power anymore

I'm the twisted name on Garbo's eyes

Living proof of Churchill's lies

I'm destiny

I'm torn between the light and dark

Where others see their targets

Divine symmetry

Should I kiss the viper's fang

Or herald loud the death of Man

I'm sinking in the quicksand of my thought

And I ain't got the power anymore

Don't believe in yourself

Don't deceive with belief

Knowledge comes with death's release

I'm not a prophet or a stone age man

Just a mortal with the potential of a superman

I'm living on

I'm tethered to the logic of Homo Sapien

Can't take my eyes from the great salvation

Of bullshit faith

If I don't explain what you ought to know

You can tell me all about it

On the next Bardo

I'm sinking in the quicksand of my thought

And I ain't got the power anymore

Don't believe in yourself

Don't deceive with belief

Knowledge comes with death's release

Don't believe in yourself

Don't deceive with belief

Knowledge comes with death's release

Don't believe in yourself

Don't deceive with belief

Knowledge comes with death's release

-Quicksand

David Bowie

I'm closer to the golden dawn

I can't believe the Wagon's gone

it's history

I'm living in a callous realm

where others seem to dig it

just too much reality

I'm frightened by the total goal,

I'm drawing to the ragged hole

and I ain't got the wagon anymore

no I ain't got the wagon anymore

I'm the twisted name on Uma's eyes

I'm the living proof of Cindy's lies

of Destiny

I'm drawing between the light and dark where others see their targets,

I can't see anything

and should I leave the engine on

to listen to that Mountain Song?

Sinkin' in the Quicksand of my thoughts

and I ain't got the wagon anymore

don't believe in yourself,

don't deceive with belief

that knowledge comes with desperate ease

not too stable hangin' by a string

can't face the thoughts no wheels will bring

I gotta go

it's bad enough being at home

without a way to leave, the damage

is gonna show

and if I don't explain what you oughtta know

you can tell me all about it at the next ball show

and I'm sinkin' in the Quicksand of my thoughts

and I ain't got the power, anymore

don't belive in yourself

don't deceive with belief

that knowledge comes with desperate ease

don't belive in yourself

don't deceive with belief

that knowledge comes with desperate ease

don't belive in yourself

don't deceive with belief

that knowledge comes with desperate ease

-Quicksand

Dinosaur Jr