"Runaway" 2003-08-02 - 4:38 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I bought Misfits Project 1950 today

at first I wasn't so impressed with it;

but the more I listen to it the more I like it

it came with this DVD featuring some live performances; and some stuff about Balzac

Balzac is this Japanese Horror Punk band that Jerry Only has taken a shine to and signed to his label(Misfits Records); and is pushing like crazy

they're all over Misfits.com

personally I don't like Balzac that much

you can't really understand what the hell the lead singer is saying

maybe I'd like them if you could hear the lyrics; lyrics are important

but on the DVD there's a promotional video of Balzac covering The Haunting and Don't Open 'Till Doomsday(pushed together as one song)

and there you can understand what he's saying; but that only makes it worse

his voice is terrible

it's really high pitched and he has a really heavy accent

it doesn't sound good at all

so yeah, I'm not a fan of a band you haven't heard of;

moving on

on the DVD of the Misfits(the current lineup of Jerry; Dez Cadena and Marky Ramone); most of the songs were recorded from a show in Vermont at some Snowboarding championship

and it's snowy

all the fans are in like, heavy jackets and caps and such

and Jerry Only is just up there in his tights and leather vest

and it's like, "damn"

because playing bass in the cold sucks

I know

it's not as bad once you're "warmed up", but it's still not the best way to play

and not only that, but the fans start throwing snowballs onstage,

and Jerry reaches out and catches some of them, then just keeps playing

and I'm just awed by that

plus Jerry does this weird thing where he holds his fingers and his thumb together and plays kind've like he's picking

and the first time I saw a closeup of him playing I thought he was picking

but this time you can tell he's not; but it just looks weird

anyway; during the first song, the camera does a lot of Unnecesary Closeups

and those three look really old

not just like old,

like, Rolling Stones old

it must just be the cold, though; because the last song they're playing at a club and they don't look that bad

anyway, there's this girl in the front row at Vermont;

who looks exactly like Catherine

I'm pretty sure it's not; but the resemblance is striking

anyway, when they play at the club for the last song("runaway")

Jimmy Destri of Blondie joins them because he played keyboard on the album

and it's really funny

he gets up there with a look on his face that's half "what am I doing here?"-boredom and half "I'm the best keyboard player ever"-arrogance

and from the look of it his part looks so simple

and it's hilarious

halfway through the song he gets a keyboard solo; and he leans the thing forward, but then he drops it

so he plays the rest of the song sitting down playing his keyboard accross his lap

and after that he smiles and looks like he's cool

but at first he just looked so arrogant

it's hilarious

but the standout guest-star is John Caffiero

I'd heard his name before but never quite knew who he was

he's a producer

and he does some backing vocals on the album and for a few songs on the DVD

and he sounds really good

he has this high pitched(but not like the guy from Balzac) version of the Misfits-vocal style* that sounds really good

that's why I'm glad he's doing the vocals for another Misfits Records band: Osaka Popstar and the American Legends of Punk

(originally just 'Osaka Popstar')

I don't quite get the name either, but their (rough cut of a)song 'Wicked World' that you can download from misfits.com sounds really good

it's been in my head since I heard it

and I'm not sick of it

so I can't wait for that album to come out

but on to the asterisk

*-I've never been sure what to call that weird, Danzig/Michale Graves/Jerry Only/Jim Morrison/to-some-extent-Elvis vocal sound

usually I just call it the Misfits sound

I can do it pretty well

lately I've been debating wether to go with it all the time or just try and sing "normally"

but that's an issue that actually has an effect on my life, and we can't have that in my diary, now can we?

on an entirely different note

Sindy told me about this show called The State that used to be on MTV that members of Reno911 used to be on

[and in case Robyn's reading: Micheal Ian Black is in it too]

and they have a website www.statemedia.net that has clips of every skit that was on the show

and I'm addicted; it's some funny shit

so now I'm (mock)pissed at Sindy for getting me addicted to something else

edit-upon reading this entry; I've realized just how much of a high-school teenage-girl I sound like; and how far that strays from my original intent with this thing. From now; I'll try to only write when I have something to say; and to live up to my dark, brooding layout.

-The Management

The Morror, The Morror!

Sweet Dreams