"The Cold" 2003-07-29 - 3:11 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

good news and bad news tonight, boys and girls

good news:

It's Gettin' Colder

now, on Tool's brilliant album Salival; they do a cover of a Led Zeppelin song(one of my favorites, by the way) called No Quarter

and on this cover, Maynard alters the lyrics quite a bit

now there's this huge breakdown segment in the middle, and in the Led Zeppelin version it's quiet

but in the Tool version Maynard does this beautiful drawn out:

"iiiiiiiit's;

gettin' colder"

and now, whenever the seasons change and it starts to turn towards winter again, I hear in my head:

"iiiiiiiit's;

gettin' colder"

the peak of summer was when my cooler was broken, ever since then it's been moving towards fall and eventually winter

dawn's been coming a little later

sundown's been coming a little sooner

it's gettin' colder

I love it

but the fairly related bad news:

I've caught a damn cold

and speaking of things that get stuck in my head;

in Metal Gear Solid there's this part where you're crawling in the vent, and through the vent you see this comedy relief guard

and he sneezes and says: "caught a damn cold"

and all fucking day,

I haven't been able to think: "I've got a cold", or "I've caught a cold"

I hear:"caught a damn cold"

and this one is bugging the fuck out of me

I feel like shit

I feel hot and cold at the same time

I feel tired but wide awake

I feel worn out

it sucks

but on an interesting side note;

colds always make me think of Christmas

apparently at some point in time I caught a cold around Christmas, and now the sensation of having a cold makes me think of Christmas

I like Christmas; and it sucks to be teased about it when it's so far away

anyway

speaking of dangerously nerdy things:

Silent Hill 3 comes out August 6

next wednesday

when all my CDO buddies go back to school

I can't wait

and plus I've found a way to get money from my parents on a regular basis once more

so I'll be able to buy those Misfits Custom Skull Crusher Strings that I've been wanting

because my guitars currently have really light gauge strings, and it's bothering me

and I'll be able to do all those other neat things you can do with money

like purchase goods

anyway,

I keep meaning to call Clinton, 'cause I really want to get that started

but Sunday I woke up at 5 in the afternoon;

and today I'm sick

and it's bothering the crap out of me

but it's not like he or Kenny have called me, so I don't feel too bad

anyway, this was a whole lot of nothing, so:

Sweet Dreams