"Me - You" 2003-07-18 - 4:48 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

not much to say tonight

got the OK to wear contacts again

but the "big" news is:

I wrote another song

I was feeling kinda depressed about how things are going between me and someone,

but for once instead of writing about it in a slow, sad song

I wrote about it in a hard, angry song

here:

rain on my head, ringing in my ears

the way you look, brings out my fears

hear ghosts of you, things you'd say

I hold you sometimes, never stay

things are changing, going different ways

I'll be here always, you run away

I meant nothing

you are everything

gave you everything, you turn away

you make it all wrong, nothing to say

to you I'm nothing, everybody's more

to me you're special, like none before

change everything, you ignore

reluctant charade, make me a chore

I mean nothing

you are everything

take your baggage, hit the road

beautiful time bomb, go explode

thought I'd need you, still empty

you looked stronger, worse than me

can't start over, can't go back

flies are gathered, skull is cracked

you're not everything

you are nothing

-Me - You

Me

I'm sure that title's already been used, but it seemed clever at the time

since it was about the interaction between "me" and "you" I figured I'd call it 'me and you' but with a plus sign just because; but then I figured since it was a pretty angry/violent interaction, a minus would be more appropriate

whatever, like I said, I'm sure a few bands have used that title already

anyway, I almost gave up on this song a couple times, but the guitar part was so good(it was the first heavy song I wrote that I liked) that I just couldn't

also, the more I wrote the better I got at the lyrics(that's why the last verse sounds better than the rest), but I'm too tired to go back and re-write the whole thing

as it is it's heavily edited. The page in the notebook I wrote this on is covered in half-erased lyrics so you can just barely tell which ones are the permanent ones

the chorus is kind've weak, it would be OK if I could rely on another vocalist there; but for now I just write with what I have

ie-me and my guitar

anyway, a note to the person this is about(you know who you are):

none of my songs are serious,

I write them based heavily on my real feelings, but I make it all hypothetical so that it can apply to more people

things have been worse between us, and I don't actually want to "break up"(for lack of a better term) like it talks about in the song

this was just me venting my feelings in a different song-writing style

anyway,

Sweet Dreams