"The End of Something Beautiful" 2003-06-23 - 4:19 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today[well, technically yesterday] was the one year anniversary of my diary

huzzah

ba-ba-baaa!

I didn't get to jam with Evan today, but we're going to do it tomorrow(hopefully)

I'm starting to feel weird again

I'm starting to feel stale

I felt this way before, semi-recently

for my whole "should I become goth again?" phase a couple months back

but it just feels like I'm stuck in a skin that doesn't fit properly

I don't know

there's a song in there somewhere I know it

but speaking of which, I wrote another song

this one I'm really proud of

it reminds me of on all those VH1 specials where bands talk about how when they wrote these classic hits, it felt like they were writing a hit

well this one felt like a hit

this one felt like one of those cult-hits that casual music fans don't know about but people who know what's what know about

like Last Caress or Love Will Tear Us Apart

but I wish I could put the guitar in here, because it has this great riff I'm really proud of

but you'll have to settle for the lyrics for now

it's a funny story though, when I wrote this; I wrote it about one thing

but the lyrics didn't quite fit

and then I came up with the title

and I changed the chorus

and tweaked the lyrics a little and it really fits the title better than what I originally wrote it about

anyway, I hope you enjoy; it's called "The End of Something Beautiful":

do you remember anything?

could you just forget everything?

and you will not do a thing

for you this simple song to sing

and now the silence will remain

still now you hold in all the pain

but now you push us all away

for now waiting for the day

to my open arms, a closed door

so I can't stay with you, anymore

breathing out

letting go

looking down

losing hold

breathing out

letting go

looking down

losing hold

this time I'll stay for a while

sometimes I still see you smile

a time we walk away for miles

no time but so much self-denial

the day that things went so wrong

today the problems still hold strong

someday, it won't be that long

always a beautiful time-bomb

to my open arms, a closed door

so I can't live for you, anymore

breathing out

letting go

looking down

losing hold

breathing out

letting go

looking down

losing hold

waiting for the day

when everything will change

will the scars all heal?

or will we be estranged?

if things weren't this way

would there still be pain?

if I let you go

could you walk away?

-The End of Something Beautiful

Me

the lyrics aren't perfect

but combined with the guitar they'll suffice

but anyway, as you can probably figure,

this is another slow song

and lately it's been bothering me that I can only write slow songs

I want to write a really good, hard, rockin' song

Some Kind of Blues was a step in the right direction

but it's not as hard as I want

and the main thing is that the only times I'm really inspired to write songs are when I'm depressed

and that leads to slow songs

I mean, you can have good, hard songs with depressing lyrics

that's easy

but when I get depressed I prefer slower songs

and therefore...

but it bothers me

I want to be a diverse artist, or at least like most artists who have slow songs and fast songs

I don't want to be someone who just plays slow, depressing songs

I've got my long hair for head-banging

and it'd be a shame if it went to waste

and as much as I like The Cure and Joy Division

I like Motorhead and White Zombie just as much

bah

I also wanted to bitch about my troubles with writing comics; but I'll spare you for now

Sweet Dreams

My Life As A Movie:

opening credits: The Future by Leonard Cohen

party scene: Breathe by Prodigy

falling in love scene: Imaginary by Evanescence

love love scene: Love You To Death by Type O Negative

driving after a break-up scene: Mudshovel by Staind

driving to make-up the break-up scene: Love You To Death by Type O Negative

plain old driving scene: 46 & 2 by Tool

chase scene: Linchpin by Fear Factory

fight scene: El Cu Cuy by Coal Chamber

funeral scene: The Day the World Went Away by Nine Inch Nails

closing credits: Love You To Death by Type O Negative

[it was supposed to be the love scene of the movie. Besides, it's a great song.]