"Perfect From Now On" 2003-06-04 - 3:51 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

lots to talk about but none of it interesting

I spent all day waiting for the sun to go down so I could play Silent Hill,

but I only had the sub-scenario left, and I beat most of it yesterday, so that only provided about 20 minutes of entertainment

and since that was my whole day plan, it left me pretty much fucked

I ended up watching the Real World

[yeah, I know. But I figured I'd end up getting sucked into it later, I might as well watch from the beginning so I knew what was going on.]

and I was amazed, for the first half of the show this guy(I forget his name now; Alex or Anthony or something with an 'A') was acting exactly like me. I was watching it and I was just shocked because it was like, there wasn't even little differences

it wasn't like the same basic things but he does them this way and I do them that way; it was bizarre

of course the second half of the show he completely blew up and acted like a dick; where as I wouldn't've let things go that far

so yeah,

I finally got around to watching Singles again

God, I love that movie

and even though I think Steve and Linda is a good storyline; Cliff and Janet make a much better one

I just like how after Janet dumps him Cliff realizes he was a dick and changes

but what I think is just kind of goofy is the beginning, where Linda falls for this sleazy guy

and I just can't believe she's that dumb; 'cause here's this white guy, with blue eyes and blond hair, with a french-sounding accent claiming he's from Spain

but whatever

it's still an awesome movie

plus it has the guy from Brimstone(and Children of the Corn) in it, which is a plus

oh yeah, and it's so funny; 'Would' was generally considered the Alice in Chains single(no pun intended) from that movie,

the music video for it featured a poster for the movie, and I'll bet 'Would' was on the soundtrack

but in the movie, when they're playing in the club, they play about two seconds of the chorus from 'Would'

the song they're playing most of the time is 'It Ain't Like That', which is one of my favorite Alice songs

but sadly, one that never got a video nor was released as a single

but what are you gonna do?

but on a note that's actually interesting;

I wrote another song

this one kind of has a story behind it, because all these random elements came together perfectly so that you'd think it was all planned

first I should say that I've always liked those kind of "lying for a good cause" type lines

like when someone's dying and their friend/lover tells them they're going to be just fine

or specifically like in The Simpsons where Homer quits the plant and gets his dream job at the bowling alley, but then has to quit because they have Maggy; and he says to Little Timmy "we'll make it to California some day" and Timmy says: "Sure we will Mr. Homer, sure we will" and then coughs really horribly

[honestly I almost cry whenever I see that, even though I know it's just a dumb gag]

and so in the midst of my discovering all about Built to Spill; I found out they had a song called "Perfect From Now On"

and for some reason that kind of struck me as one of those things

so I went out of my way to try and find that song, only to discover it was the name of an album, but not a song

so I decided, OK; I'm going to write my own song called that

now usually I don't like going into the songwriting process with the title first; but I could kind of hear how it would work out in my head, so I went with it anyway

so then tonight I watch 'Singles', and that movie always gets me in a wierd mood because it's a good movie that makes me feel good; but at the same time it's like: "where's my happy ending?" "where's the girl I can finally say 'bless you' after she sneezes for and then she'll realize we belong together and we can make out in an elevator?"

and since I kind've had the idea about the song anyway, I figured that this put me in the mood to write about kind of a disfunctional relationship

where the two mean well but just are bad at it

well last week or so[before I'd even heard of Built to Spill] I wrote this guitar melody while I was really depressed; but I scrapped it because it was too up-beat sounding

so tonight I took that and modified the crap out of it

but it was still really up-beat

but at the same time it kind've unintentionally sounded like Built to Spill

[even though I didn't try to, I'm sure that's a result of my listening to them so much in the last few days]

so basically I was skirting the line where if the lyrics were too romantic, it was going to sound like a pop song

but if I made them "disfunctional enough" it would sound like Built to Spill, and therefore it wouldn't suck

I had the idea for the well-meaning couple that's just bad at being in a relationship together, so I used my feelings for Sindy to provide the "well-meaing" part

[which also made it hard to make them "disfunctional"]

and I just basically took the things I was feeling and skewed them until they sounded right

[or would that be 'wrong'?]

there's a couple 'Singles' references in there, as well as a Built to Spill reference(other than the title); I couldn't help it

the lines about 'taking seven days to call = playing games' and 'saying "bless you" when the girl sneezes' are from Singles

and 'it's so hard to read' is from Bad Light by Built to Spill

but anyway, without further ado; here's my latest effort:

and so I spend my days, waiting for you

but you're so far away, leavin' me screwed

and just who's to say, what is right?

try to stay awake, to see the light

these days you never call, is it a game?

roses wilting in the trash, what a shame

I never go by your house, stay at mine

we'll see eachother next month, say it's fine

and it's so hard to read, love letters

I never sent them anyway, yours are better

I don't say "bless you" when you sneeze, I'm not a priest

things are going so well, at least

and someday we'll make a change

yeah, someday we'll rearrange

and when things are good, we'll say that

now, everything's gonna be-

perfect from now on...

we're neither here nor there

we still say we care

and someday we'll make a change

yeah, someday we'll rearrange

and when things are good, we'll say that

now everything's gonna be-

perfect from now on...

-Perfect From Now On

Me

so yeah, hope you enjoy

Sweet Dreams and Screw You All

[except Sindy, even though she didn't respond either. I love you!]

My Life As A Movie:

opening credits: Where Is My Mind? by the Pixies

party scene: Freak Scene by Dinosaur Jr

falling in love scene: I Wanna Be Your Dog by Iggy and The Stooges

love love scene: Heavy by Collective Soul

after a break-up driving scene: Stone the Crow by Down

driving to make-up the break-up scene: Graveyard by The Yeah Yeah Yeah's

plain old driving scene: Woke Up This Morning by The A3

chase scene: Hey Man, Nice Shot by Filter

fight scene: We Die Young by Alice in Chains

funeral scene: Desperado by The Eagles

closing credits: Still Flat by Built to Spill