"Burning Out My Fuse, All Alone..." 2003-05-29 - 1:48 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

"and I think it's gonna be a long long time, 'fore touch-down brings me 'round again to find; I'm not the man they think I am at home. Oh no! I'm a Rocket Man!"

space is often used as a metaphor for loneliness

the utter distance from everyone human and the sheer void created by the vastness of space makes for a pretty lonely experience

and I think that's also the reason I'm so obssessed with Silent Hill

I can just walk off into the fog, in some deserted little town full of monsters

not having to deal with anyone else

I'm just alone

I don't have to deal with friends who never call

or women who are actually frightened by the thought of me finding them attractive

I can just wander on, solve puzzles and blast convulsing zombie/demon thingies

you have no idea how often I dream of dozing off and waking up surrounded by ultra-thick fog with snow falling for the first time in this hotter-than-fuck desert town

my only companions a gun, a flashlight, and a radio that seems to be broken but breaks into static at the approach of monsters

it probably seems unhealthy and super-geeky

to be this caught up in a game

but I don't think it's the game so much as the idea

as I'm trying to say

I could even do without the monsters and the gun and all that

just so long as I'm alone in the fog

but as far as real life goes;

every day I'm sinking deeper into depression

each day it lasts a little longer and gets a little worse

last night I wrote a song

tonight I played Silent Hill

wonder what I'll do tomorrow

hey, I could end up with an album worth of songs

but no band to back me up

and I wish I were dead

Sweet Dreams

She packed my bags last night, preflight

Zero hour, nine a.m.

And I'm gonna be high

As a kite by then

I miss the earth so much

I miss my wife

It's lonely out in space

On such a timeless flight

And I think it's gonna be a long, long, time

'Til touchdown brings me 'round again to find

I'm not the man they think I am at home

Ah, no no no...

I'm a rocket man

Rocket man

Burnin' out his fuse

Up here alone

Mars ain't the kind of place

To raise your kids

In fact, it's cold as hell

And there's no one there to raise them

If you did

And all this science

I don't understand

It's just my job

Five days a week

A Rocket Man

Rocket Man

And I think it's gonna be a long, long, time

'Til touchdown brings me 'round again to find

I'm not the man they think I am at home

Ah, no no no...

And I think it's gonna be a long, long, time

'Til touchdown brings me 'round again to find

I'm not the man they think I am at home

Ah, no no no...

I'm a rocket man

Rocket man

Burnin' out his fuse

Up here alone

And I think it's gonna be a long, long, time

And I think it's gonna be a long, long, time

And I think it's gonna be a long, long, time

Long, long, time

Long, long, time

Ah, no, no, no...

Oh, no, no, no, no, no, no, no...

-Rocket Man

Elton John