"Sweet Dreams" 2003-05-27 - 3:23 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

"I can't fire them; I hired them to work three days a week and they just started coming in every day."

I think when I grow up I'm either going to be like John Cusack's character in "High Fidelity" or like one of the people he's talking about in that quote.

and speaking of my future I think when I finally get in a band it's going to be one of those consistently depressed/depressing bands like The Smiths/Morrisey or The Cure

just because I can't really bring myself to write about anything besides depressing subject matter

I had a good song written that wasn't depressing but I tore it up

anyway, I had this big long talk about my future planned out again

but I'm real tired because I've been grooming myself for the past hour and that's exhausting work

so instead I'm going to tell you about this dream I had last night and then just stop annoying you all

the dream was wierd

it was like, the Soviets and the nazis were coming back

and I get the feeling they were doing it all over the world but for some reason they were doing it really heavy in Tucson

it was the Soviets first

they started erecting these gigantic "Batman: Forever"-looking billboard type-things on the mountains

they were these gigantic glowing red "S"s that were shaped all jagged and evil-looking and had this stage behind them; and they were on all the time

they were only on the mountains right by my house [the whole city of Tucson is surrounded by a mountain range on every side; like Hyrule in The Legend of Zelda: A Link To The Past], but yet there were still a bunch of them, and they were gigantic

the size of buildings

anyway, then the nazis started errecting the same things, except with swastikas and other nazi symbols(still glowing red 'round the clock), and at the same time the Soviets changed theirs from a big "S" to a bunch of wierd skulls and cross-bones and other things that were less Soviet-ish and more evil

then somehow the Soviets and nazis moved in and started fighting with eachother making Tucson[and I get the feeling the whole country] a war-zone; while our government/army was completely absent

and the world went insane and turned into this Mad Max-ish place where psychos were everywhere and attrocities were a part of every day life; while the crumbling remains of civilization tried to stay organized

all in all it was pretty damn cool

all this happened in kind of a montage-feel, like it wasn't in real time but it was like a prologue in a movie

the dream started this one day where I drove down the road to my house[I was driving this big black pick-up truck the whole time], and when I got there the end of my driveway was blocked by this tall wooden fence

it looked like a video game because through the gaps in the boards I could see the horizon in the distance, and the ground and everything that looked real ended at the boards

the horizon, by the way, also looked like it was just some video game background rather than a real horizon

and as a result I didn't feel too bad that my house and family were gone

but I knew that it was because of the nazis/Soviets

[it was wierd, it felt like they were allies but they were fighting eachother at the same time]

that they were specifically after me, and this was the beginning of a long quest of mine to seek revenge/find my family; just like a video game

[and more specifically, Silent Hill]

so I try to get in my truck but it wouldn't start

[a-la Silent Hill(I'll get more into that later)]

so I grabbed some things(I forget exactly what) and this wierd orange Razor Scooter/Bicycle combination thingy that I rode off

all the dry, spikey vegetation that characterizes our barely-desert was wiped away except for a few trees

and the area to the left of the road from my street to the main road was made up of a large farm that looked like a Japanese rice paddy

and then a large paved area that was full of large brick buildings that I got the feeling was a school, but some wierd school for adults that had something to do with the war

[somewhere along the way I passed this wierd military depot that I think belonged to the Soviets, and I get the feeling I stopped for some reason and they were really nice, but then some nazis showed up and a gunfight started and I split]

and to the right of the road was houses most of the way, then at the end next to the main road was this bizarre little resteraunt

cars were still going down the main road, it wasn't as busy as it is in real life, but it was in use

[I pointed that out to show that it wasn't complete post-apocolypse]

for some reason I stopped at this "resteraunt"

and I say that because the building was super-tiny

but it was called something like "The Parmesian[I have no idea how to spell that; but I mean the cheese you put on Spaghetti] of Life"; I don't think that was it exactly, but it was something like that

anyway, when I got there, there were these wierd noises coming from the building, and the door was shaking

and somehow I knew that the door was locked

there was this guy in the parking lot

and we sat and talked for a while

I don't remember the conversation, but I remember it mostly had to do with how much of a psycho the guy[yes, the one guy] in the "resteraunt" was, and how afraid the guy I was talking to was of the guy in the "resteraunt"

anyway, I remember we were getting ready to leave; when suddenly the noises stop, and the door slowly swings open

the guy I was talking to slowly walked over to check it out

and I'm yelling at him: "don't do it!" and things of that nature

but he walks over there, and he sticks his head in the doorway

he said something to the guy inside, and then he starts telling me that the guy was OK

so he's standing there on the ground[the resteruant was elevated] with his head in the doorway, while the guy in the resteraunt is walking around behind him

and for some reason I was circling my scooter thing around the parking lot getting ready to leave

and the whole time I'm just screaming at him: "RUN!" over and over again, but he just kept saying: "it's ok, it's ok"

and as I circled around I got a glimpse inside the "resteraunt" and somehow I could see the whole thing,

it was just a desk on one side of the building, and two sinks on the other, with barely enough room to move around, it really was tiny

and the guy inside was this fat guy in a tank top and sweat pants

[now that I think about it he kind of looked like Carl from "Aqua Teen Hunger Force"]

and he was carrying this little hand-held barbell, one of those like 10 or 15 pound ones; except somehow I know this one was a lot heavier

and as the guy I was talking to is telling me "it's ok", he's looking away from the guy in the resteraunt

so the "resteraunt" guy walks up and just slams his barbell into the back of the guy I was talking to's head, and he just kills him

and somehow I knew that this guy was a cannibal right then, and that he cooked people in his little "resteruant"

so I speed off on my scooter, but this guy is running right behind me, and I'm bunny-hopping[or is it called something else on a scooter?] over the curbs seperating the parking lot and the road

and it was weird, because in the dream I suddenly understood how to do it; I understood the physics of it and everything, like if you had given me a BMX in real life I could've done one right then; I literally understood exactly how to do it in real life, not just the dream

of course, I've forgotten it now, but that's not the point

so anyway, I speed off onto the farm's fields, and this guy is right behind me

so I go to do a bunny-hop over something, and I realize that I'm going to ram into the branch of this tree, and since I'm in mid-air I can't move out of its way

so somehow I manage to as I ram into the tree, rest my torso on the brance, and bring the scooter up into the head of the psycho guy

and I just nailed him, I remember the back wheel bending from the impact, but it was fine literally a second later

so that knocks him out, and as I come down I land with the scooter right across his chest in the hopes that it'll do more damage

then I speed off into the buildings of the "school" in the hopes that if/when the guy wakes up he won't find me

as I was riding away, I remembered that the name of the resteraunt(whatever it really was) was an expression for death

in whatever world I was in it was an expression for death/all the deaths in war; specifically the war going on at the time

and somehow that made sense

and as I'm skating[scooting?] around the buildings, I'm thinking that I have to look around them

[another Silent Hill reference]

and as I stop to start checking the doors, I look up at the side of one of the buildings, and in true Silent Hill fashion; scrawled backwards in blood is the word: "weisenedy"

except the last "e" might've been a little "3"; and the middle "e" might not've been there at all

and I tried to figure out what it meant(or even what it really said); and right as I thought that it seemd to be a combination of "Eisenhower" and "Kennedy", I thought maybe it was the President's name; and that seemed right

but then I woke up

and I know that this is clearly a result of my recent obsession with Silent Hill

but it was just so cool

and I really hope that when I fall asleep tonight, I pick up where I left off

I've actually had dreams that have happened like that before, where they pick up where another similar one left off, and I'm aware of it

but this one was so detailed, so clear

that it was more like a video game in my own mind that I was playing[complete with loss of character control at appropriate plot points and boss battles] rather than a dream

it was really bizarre

but yeah, more on that if it develops

Sweet Dreams