"Yeah Yeah Yeah" 2003-05-21 - 2:12 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

it turns out I was wrong

graduation was today

and in a shocking turn of events, I don't want to continue being depressed

so I'm just going to talk about new bands

[and some less inane stuff later on]

you want to know some new bands that kick ass?

The Roots-I have a lot of respect for these guys, because they're a band. They have a drummer that just plays drums, a guitarist that just plays guitar, and so on through bass, keyboard, and another guy; and then they have a lead singer. He just raps instead of sings. Now a hip-hop group that's actually a band is very cool to me. And add to that the fact that they're actually good and they earn lots of respect from me.

also, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs-they're another new band that are lacking a bassist. And quite frankly I find that to be a rather disturbing trend. But they rock either way. They have such a great, unique sound. And plus there's Karen O.. She's a great frontwoman, I've only seen her on Conan O'Brian; but she rocks. She's a very good performer. And she really looks like she's having fun.

you want to know some new bands that suck?

The Sounds-allright, I have to admit that they sound OK; but their musical philosiphy is so shallow that to me, it felt like being hit in the head with a brick upon hearing it. They don't want to sound like "Pizza Rock", like Papa Roach. And they call it "Pizza Rock" because, quote: "there's always a fat guy in the band; and we don't want to be like that." What the fuck kind of idiotic musical ideal is that? I can't even begin to explain the many things wrong with that. Now I'm sure that they'll come out and say "that was a joke" or something and I'll be all like "Whoo, The Sounds!". But until then, they all need to be punched in the stomach.

and also, Smile Empty Soul-these guys really sound like they have potential; but the chorus of their first song is "I do it for the drugs". I'm kind've on the edge with this one, because it might be warning against drugs, I just can't catch the rest of the lyrics. But this one just doesn't sit right with me. I can't quite explain it, but it really bothers me to no end. And I mean, what's with that name? It's almost as bad as "Nightmare of Reason"

*snicker*

but anyway, pulling head out of ass

and speaking of comics:

I've finally gotten around to drawing Freak Scene again

today I did some frames where Jill's character's neck ended up looking huge and wierd

and one where Evan's character looked evil

and once again I just couldn't seem to make Mariah's character look right

I know that amuses Stephanie to no end

but it bothers me

anyway, but I've figured out: all the character names in the comic are references to something, and since pretty much all my readers are girls; whoever guesses exactly what all the references are to, I'm just going to have to marry

that's it

Stephanie's disqualified because I told her and, well, for obvious reasons

[disclaimer: offer void where logical reasoning still exists, thoughts of marriage to me may cause vomitting, nausea, and growth of hair in strange places]

So here's the names

Me = Alex

Stephanie = Genesis

Robyn = Kathleen

Evan = Eddie

Jill = Topaz

Amber = 'Dizzy'(short for Isabelle)

Misty = Lara

Cody = Quentin

Mariah = Eve

Catherine = Graham

the names are from movies, comic books, bands, and TV shows

and as a hint: "Quentin" is not Quentin Tarantino

[please everyone try this even if you don't care, just so I know I'm not typing to myself]

Sweet Dreams