"Dead Souls" 2003-05-14 - 4:05 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was pretty sweet

I went into CDO(my high school, sort of), took the final for Creative Writing; and picked up the crap I left in my art class

which means that I've only got one short course to go before I'm graduated

fuck yeah

and I got to rock out with Evan

it was a lot like the first practice of The Mole People

"do you know this song?"

"no; can you play this song?"

"no, do you know this song?"

"maybe"

*thinks, screws around on instrument trying to remember part*

"...no"

there were only two songs we could play: About A Girl and Verse Chorus Verse/Sappy[two different titles, same song] by Nirvana

we might've actually finished About A Girl; but we screwed up on Sappy and just kind of gave up

I played him some of the electric version of Forget Me Not, and he came up with a good drum part

And I also found out that even with my new and improved singing voice; my stereo still isn't loud enough to be heard over the drums unless I scream every line.

And even though my screaming has improved as well, I was never very good at it; and I can't scream every line

it just sounds like shit

so basically this means that I've figured out what I'm going to have my parents get me as a graduation present

a PA System

so that whenever I finally get a band together they'll actually be able to hear me

speaking of which

I'm still not sure wether Evan wants to start a band again

but I'm trying real hard not to bring that up and make him feel uncomfortable

but this Friday I'm going to go see one of his friend's bands play with him; so that should be pretty cool

anyway

after that we hung out at the arcade

and I learned that playing Dance Dance Revolution in combat boots doesn't work

you can't feel where you're stepping and as a result suck

plus I was out of practice as hell

but whatever

I learned the guitar version of 'Hurt'[finally] and Lake of Fire by the Meat Puppets when I got home

and I've also set a new record for bands growing on me super-quick

first it was Dinosaur Jr, and now it's Joy Division

I just got their CD last Saturday and I've listened to it every day since

I mean, I think except for a few minutes when I wanted to listen to another band's song once; that CD has been in my CD player ever since

it's wierd

because it doesn't really inspire me to be like "WHOO! JOY DIVISION!" like I am with my other favorite bands(Alice, Dinosaur Jr, The Ramones); but for some reason I just want to keep listening to them forever and ever

it's wierd

I mean a year or so ago I'm reading Sandman and one of the characters have 'Joy Division' on their leather jacket; it's the first time I've ever heard of them

and now they're quickly climbing up the ranks of my "favorite bands" list.

but whatever

Sweet Dreams

Someone take these dreams away

That point to me another day

A dual of personalities

That stretch all true reality

And they keep calling me, they keep calling me

Keep on calling me, they keep on calling me

When figures from the past stand tall

And mocking voices ring the hall

Imperialistic house of prayer

Conquistadores who took their share

And keep on calling me, they keep calling me

Keep on calling me, they keep calling me

Calling me - calling me - calling me - calling me

They keep calling me, keep on calling me

They keep calling me, they keep calling me

-Dead Souls

Joy Division