"Cult of Personality" 2003-05-06 - 3:41 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I guess I feel better today

I don't know

I haven't given that much thought to how I feel lately

I've just been so shallow

so calloused

I'm probably tired of thinking about how I feel because I always feel bad

but lately, I don't know

it's just been: "I should play Silent Hill", or "I should watch this movie I rented" or "I should shower" but instead I sit in front of the tv and flip channels for hours because tv sucks

for the next three days I will have the house all to myself for a few hours

which means I will hook up my mic, turn my amp up, and really practice my guitar

I'm really proud of myself today, because I learned "Cult of Personality" by Living Colour

and if you've never heard that song you should because it kicks ass

but it's hard to play because the riffs are complicated and fast as hell

but I learned it

the only problem is the solo

the place I got the tab from didn't include the solo(they never do, the fuckers) so I'm stuck improvising

and even though I usually don't mind improvising my solos

that song has a much more complicated solo than I can do

I improvise Dinosaur Jr style solos

and that song sounds nothing like Dinosaur Jr

but I won't mind as long as I can come up with something passable

if not then I know how to get around it, it just won't sound as good

either way, I figured out why I could hammer on bass but not on guitar

[hammering = that nifty Metal-Solo trick where you play like, three notes really fast(that's the best way I can describe it, I can never describe hammering. But other guitar players know what it is)]

I mean, I knew how to hammer, and like I said: I could do it on bass, but on guitar it always came out really quietly

well, the reason was, you can't just hammer on, you have to absolutely slam your fingers onto the fretboard(yeah, I realize "hammer" kind of connotates that; but I didn't have to do it that hard on bass, and bass actually has bigger strings)

so whatever

good song, really complicated, and I can play it

I'm so fucking boring

Sweet Dreams

Look in my eyes

what do you see?

the cult of personality

I know your anger

I know your dreams

I've been everything you want to be

I'm the cult of personality

like Mussoulini

or Kennedy

I'm the cult of personality

the cult of personality

the cult of personality

neon lights

Nobel prize

when the leader speaks

the nation rise

you don't have to follow me

only you, can set me free

I sell the things

you need to be

I'm the smiling face on your tv

I'm the cult of personality

I exploit you

still you love me

I tell you one and one makes three

I'm the cult of personality

like Joseph Stalin

and Ghandi

I'm the cult of personality

the cult of personality

the cult of personality

neon lights

Nobel Prize

when a leader speaks

that leader dies

you don't have to follow me

only you, can set you free

you gave me fortune

you gave me fame

you gave me power in your God's name

I'm every person

you need to be

oh!

I'm

the

cult

of

per

son

al

ity

I'm the cult of

I'm the cult of

I'm the cult of

I'm the cult of

I'm the cult of

I'm the cult of

I'm the cult of

personality

*ask not what your country can do for you...*

*the only thing we have to fear is fear itself!*

-Cult of Personality

Living Colour