"In The Night" 2003-05-04 - 3:48 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was interesting

I've been saying that alot

interesting things have been happening, I guess

I called Robyn,

she wasn't home

so I set out on my own

got to Zia, picked up the (relatively)new J. Mascis + The Fog album

on my way back I stopped at the mall

why?

because the thought of going home and sitting by myself for the rest of the day made me want to kill myself

so I went to the mall

hit the usual stores

found out I missed my chance to get the Marvel Knights(Marvel's half-assed attempt at a version of DC's "Vertigo") Punisher graphic novel

anyway, so just for the fuck of it I went to EB

and asked if they had the original Silent Hill

because I can't find that damn game anywhere

not even on the internet

and as one of the store clerks said: "you know it's bad when you can't even find it on the internet"

so anyway, I asked about it; and they didn't have it

and so I end up going to another software store looking for it

this guy calls another store looking for it

[I swear to God there seemed to be more links in the chain than this when it actually occured]

and they actually have it!

so he asks: "you want me to have them hold it for you?"

I figure "what's it gonna hurt?", say: "sure"

I figure they'll reserve it for me, I can go get it next week, when I've got more money

but this guy goes: "he's on his way now"

so fuck, now I have to go get it

so I drove even further down town than Zia was(which was the furthest I was planning to go today) and got the damn thing

had to blow pretty much all the 'emergency gas money' in my car to pay for it

and now I have to fucking explain to my mom why I blew my emergency money on a used video game

but whatever,

the point is that I finally own Silent Hill

yay!

I came home, gave Steph a call, see if she wanted to watch Natural Born Killers

but she wasn't home either

so I sat around for a couple of hours

and then the night really got interesting at about 12:30

I went up on my roof to play my accoustic guitar, and I see these lights flashing around the desert

I couldn't tell what the hell it was at first, but then it looks like my next door neighbor is pulling out

[our houses have parallel driveways from the street, and his goes back further than ours]

only, he doesn't pull out

it's like he just turned his truck around with the headlights on

I figure "hmm, that's odd"

about two minutes later(possibly even less)

I see more lights in the desert

I can't quite tell what it is

then I see these two cars

[OK, here's a map(you'll note that I suck at paint):

]

on the other road, coming from the right

[the neighbor I thought was pulling out was "Neighbor A"]

then these two cars pull into the wierd RV's driveway

[there's actually more space between my house and the RV]

I figured they were just the people who lived in the RV getting home

hey, it's a saturday night, people like to go out late

so I hesitantly keep playing

I mean, I was far enough away that there's no way they could hear me

so then both of the cars pull away, and drive down the road again, going off to the left

now, you can't tell in the map, but the "other road" curves around in a big circle, and my street comes off of that one

now being insanely paranoid, I figure that they heard me playing, and are going to come and do something to me

I didn't really have an explanation as to why, but that's what I thought

so a second later, I see more lights on the desert

and after a second I realize that they're coming from behind me

I about shit my pants

so I turn around, and it's just "Neighbor B" coming home

so I kinda laugh at myself, and keep playing

well a few minutes later, I see lights on the desert again

and I turn around and this time it is the two cars

so I stop playing and I'm about to shit my pants again

it looked like they were about to pull into my driveway too!

luckily they just stopped at the cul-de-sac, between the two driveways

there was no moon out, so I could barely see; but I thought I saw a police siren(not on) on top of the one car

so I thought that someone had finally called the cops on me for "disturbing the peace" by sitting on top of my roof and playing my guitar in the middle of the night

now, looking back on it, that's nothing to be afraid of

nobody has ever yelled at me before, and if anyone ever had I would've stopped doing it anymore

and if I explained that to the cops, they probably would've let me go simply because no one had warned me before calling them

and in reality I first saw the cars when I had barely finished my first song

no way there was gonna be two cop cars out there with that kind of response time just for a "disturbing the peace" call

but at the time I was still scared

and as scared as I was of confronting the cops, I was even more scared that it wasn't the cops

that it was just some guys who were coming to my house in the middle of the fucking night

so I sat there for a few minutes, scared to move

and nobody was geting out of the cars(once they parked I could only see one)

but soon enough I got my wits about me and hurried the fuck inside

I put my guitar away, and proceeded to crack open the blinds to my front window to see if they were coming to my house

it was tough to see anything, so I got some binoculars my dad uses for bird-watching

and I'm pretty sure that it was a cop car

but for a while there was this wierd red light coming from inside the car

I assumed it was just a dome light because of how dim it was; but it's odd that it was red like that

anyway, nobody came to my door

but for a second I nearly shit myself for a third time when the light coming in through the blinds suddenly got brighter, because I thought it was the motion light we have in the front

but it turned out to be the headlights of the one car I could see, as he turned around and left

I didn't see the second car leave

the obvious explanation is that that car left first

but in the depths of my paranoia there's all kinds of explanations for what went on out there

and very few of them are wholesome

I don't know why two cop cars came to my neighborhood at twelve thirty at night

I don't know why they stopped in the driveway of the wierd RV just behind my backyard

and I don't know why they stopped in the cul-de-sac just beyond my driveway, but didn't come to my door

I don't know why my neighbor's truck lights were on and moving but the truck never left the driveway

I don't know why there was an odd red light coming from inside one of the cop cars

and I don't know why I only saw one of the cars leave

altogether it's a very unnerving situation

but I think if it's anything as sinister as some of the stuff I'm thinking up; there'll be more police tomorrow and possibly news coverage

if there's not then yeah, I'll be left to wonder; but if there's nothing like that then it's nothing serious, so I won't have to worry

very strange

either way my plans of playing Silent Hill tonight were shot to hell because I figured I'd been scared enough

Sweet Dreams