"Havana Affair" 2003-04-22 - 3:29 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was moderately interesting

I had the house to myself for a little bit, meaning I got to plug in my mic and play at full volume

found out my singing has improved more than I thought it had

and I can play really fast on guitar

I listened to one of my live Ramones CDs, and I found out that I can actually play Havana Affair faster than they do

it's a proud day

that's the only Ramones song that sounds good super-fast,

and the only songs I know that are really adaptable to playing super-fast on guitar are Ramones

so that rocked

as I play more and more of The Getaway; the storyline is becoming more and more 100 Bullets-esque

obviously it lacks the titular 100 Bullets; and the whole Trust/Minutemen plot

but it seems like something that would happend in the 100 Bullets Universe

ie-like it was written by Brian Azzarello

it even looks to have the trademark Downer Ending

sort of

I'll explain more as I go along

as if you cared

but I suppose the top story of the night would have to be my car

me and my dad went down to Blockbuster to give it one last chance to start

sadly, it didn't

so we called a tow truck, and had it brought back to the house

I don't know why; but I had some wierd aversion to the tow truck

like, as the guy was hoisting my van onto the back of the truck,

[via mechanical pulleys and the like, obviously]

I just had this really childish fear like they were taking my van away

like when you're a little kid, and you're afraid that monsters are going to come out of your closet and take you away

I just really didn't want the guy to put my van on the back of his truck

but obviously logic won out and I didn't say anything,

and my van is sitting in our car-port right now

my dad wants to take the starter out and get it 'tested' somewhere, so we know it's the starter before we spend money on a new one

which means that my car is still dead

but at least it's back home

in all likelihood it'll be running by tomorrow night

I can't imagine my dad putting off working on it for longer than the next day

especially if it's just the starter

but ah, well

it's not like I have anywhere to go

and the fact that my car died has given me a nice excuse for why I'm not out looking for a job

I get the new medicine on thursday, and hopefully everything will work out

Sweet Dreams

"This one's for all you Salsa fans out there, HAVANA AFFAIR"

"One Two Three Four"

PT Boat on the way to Havana

I used to make a livin', man, pickin' the banana

now I'm a guide for the CIA

hooray, for the USA

baby, baby, make me loco

baby, baby, make me mambo

sent two spies on a Cuban talent show

first stop: Havana, go go

I used to make a livin', man, pickin' the banana

hooray,

for Havana

baby, baby, make me loco

baby, baby, make me mambo

PT Boat on the way to Havana

I used to make a livin', man, pickin' the banana

now I'm a guide for the CIA

hooray, for the USA

baby, baby, make me loco

baby, baby, make me mambo

sent two spies on a Cuban talent show

first stop: Havana, go go

I used to make a livin', man, pickin' the banana

hooray,

for Havana

baby, baby, make me loco

baby, baby, make me mambo

-Havana Affair

The Ramones