"House of 1,000 Corpses pt. 2" 2003-04-12 - 12:56 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

well, saw House of 1,000 Corpses today

by myself, of course

I'll get to the movie in a moment

but first I just want to apologize for how worked up about it I got

it was just, the night before I felt like I had nothing to live for;

and then here's something I've been looking forward to

and I just grabbed it and held it as tight as I could

made it out to be much more important than it was

sure, it was something I was looking forward to, and would've gotten excited about normally

but it became the only thing that mattered in my life

literally

and now that it's gone, I'm back to having nothing

but enough about me, back to the movie

I don't think I put in any real spoilers; but if you're planning on seeing this and want to go in with an untainted perspective, skip to the lower asterisks

it was an allright movie

it fell into all the usual plot-holes that bad horror movies usually do:

No Character Development,

Muddled Plot,

shit like that

you can tell Rob just had a bunch of scenes in his mind that he wanted to see in a movie, and he just stitched them together like some Frankenstein's Movie; with the characters and plot falling by the wayside

you can still make a movie like that interesting, but Rob surprised me by shooting himself in the foot;

he didn't give himself enough Cannon Fodder

there's only four Hapless Victims

and when he introduces the opportunity for more in two cops and one of the girls' father; he blows it by simply shooting them all in one scene rather than using them for more creative deaths

and what surprised me is that even with only the four victims, he manages to make their deaths seem inconsequential

they speed by like he's got a bunch of victims that he has to get to

of course, that's probably due more to the massive cuts they had to make to the movie to get it down to an 'R' rating

but whatever

and of the four victims, only one of them gets even a shade of character development

of course, I suppose she's supposed to be the main character 'cause she lasts the longest; but we still barely have any reason to feel any sympathy for her

and the fact that none of the others get any character development makes them absolutely un-sympathetic

their deaths are more like: "there goes that one" than anything else

this movie falls into the same pit as The Texas Chainsaw Massacre in that it's more horrifying than scary

except for a few "BOO!" type scares, there's nothing really frightening; just a lot of over-the-top violence

and with the massive cuts that got made, it's kind of nuetered in that area

of course, you have to give it to Rob that he writes good dialogue; the opening scene(and pretty much all the scenes) with Captain Spaulding is awesome.

but that's just his writing

Rob Zombie makes an excellent director

I can't accurately describe the tricks he uses; but he is amazing

he may be a mediocre writer[which I can forgive 'cause it's his first time]; but he's a fucking genius director

the actors themselves are ok

they weren't given much to work with in the character department; and as such they don't really have the chance to really shine or suck

the real standout, though, is Rob's girlfriend

'Kitty' Moon

she plays "Baby", the slutty daughter of the Psycho Hillbillies, and she is great

I really hope she takes up acting, because she's amazing

she wasn't given any more lines or focus than any other character in the movie, but she performs so well that you can't help but almost think of her as the main character

even if she is one of the "villains"

she literally steals the show

and she does this really creepy little girl laugh that serves the movie well

so cons:

-"Frankenstein's Movie" plot

-crappy characters

-un-conclusive ending

pros:

+Rob Zombie makes an excellent director

+Capt. Spaulding

+Kitty Moon

******************

anyway, back to my actual life

I'm starting to realize that none of my "friends" really like me

and I really need to start hanging out with Jinx more, as she seems to be the only friend of mine to genuinely enjoy my company(unless she's good at lying); even if she does find me "too innocent"

of course I'm sure if I started hanging out with her I'd have all the same problems that came up with the other friends I used to hang out with

and then there's my mom

*heavy sigh*

she decided that she wanted to "do something" with me

I don't know what the fuck she wants to do

she just doesn't realize I'm past the age of hanging out with my mom

she seriously does not realize it

this is probably gonna come down to me bursting her bubble and finally shoving it into her face that I'm not her little boy anymore

which is gonna make her all sad and depressed

but it can't be helped

if I'm lucky maybe I'll con her into buying me something expensive

like contacts or something

and then that'll count as "doing something" with her, and I can put off the drama until after I'm long gone

I don't know

at the moment I'm still in an "everything's pointless" mode

Sweet Dreams