"Vietnow" 2003-02-20 - 3:20 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

well, things have settled down in my personal life

I suppose

it felt really nice to have Stephanie call me, and actually seem like she wanted to hang out with me

it just felt good

and thank you to Lilyrain for her note, it was really sweet

but for the most part my life has been consumed recently with my recent obsession with a band called The Raveonettes

they freaking rock

they're Danish, and they have this really unique sound

I'd tell you what they sound like but there's really nothing I can compare them to

the closest I can get(and this isn't really that close) is like the Ramones meet Sonic Youth

either way, they're a damn good band

they have a lot of influences,

and their modus operandi(pretend I spelled that right) is kind of linked to Sune(the lead singer/guitarist/50% of the band)'s obsession with Jack Kerouac

they have a really different sound and way of doing things, and it just produces the most refreshing sound I've heard in a long time

they really embody everything I like about being "hip" and "stylish" with nothing I don't(the pretentiousness, and so forth)

and even if the music doesn't have deep emotional meaning; it still sounds amazing

and speaking of music

the other thing taking up large portions of my personal life lately is my guitar

as I've said before, I have this really rare/expensive guitar; but the only thing really special about it is just the body

it's this neat wood grain/cherry red; and it's in a different shape

I got it when red was my favorite color, and I thought it looked cool

now I think it looks kind of ugly to be honest

so basically I'm going to cash in on it's worth by trading it in at this music shop somewhat downtown(Rainbow) and get a better(= cheaper and better looking) guitar and some distortion pedals

I'm hoping that I'll get enough that I'll have a bit of money left over to blow on the dumb stuff I usually blow my money on, but a guitar and more equipment is my goal

and if they don't give me a decent amount of money I won't do it at all

that would suck, because I really want some distortion pedals and a better looking guitar

I don't think I'd be able to afford another amp, but one of those would be nice too

and moving on to things outside of my personal life:

everyone seems to be hung up on Iraq lately

the general consensus is we're going to war

I don't agree

I mean; why the fuck should we go to war?

I realize Saddam Houssein is a despot and maniac

I realize he's doing some pretty bad shit

but we had the chance to get rid of him before, and just like the dumb Americans we are; we blew it

said: "now behave", waggled our finger, and went home

but as bad as that is: A) we're not the Watchdog of the World; it is not our goddamn job to go out and right the wrongs of the world, especially when we're not exactly the model of good

and B)we've got our own damn problems

our economy is literally flushing down the toilet

we're sliding deeper and deeper into recession, and to be honest a depression(although still far off) is no longer an unreasonable possibiliy

our president is an imbecile who got in on a fraudulent election and is slowly undoing everything that the last few presidents have done to help fix the government

and if you want to talk about attrocity: we've got some pretty nasty shit still going on in our country, it's just not national news anymore

if we want to play The Hero and right the wrongs of the world, I think the first thing we should do is do something about a group of violent, militaristic idiots known as the klan

everyone may think the klan is just a bunch of hicks in bed sheets; but I saw a documentary on tv a few years back

it showed footage of a newer klan

one that wears fatigues, and is doing FUCKING COMBAT TRAINING in the woods

now when you have a bunch of people IN YOUR OWN DAMN COUNTRY preparing for war against ethnic groups and everyone who support them; you shouldn't be running off to deal with other people's problems

but I digress

my point is: we've got our own problems, and we have no reason to run off to a war that will only result in massive loss of life

assuming that the Iraqis can fight back

I mean, on a large scale

the truth is: Iraq doesn't have shit in the way of weapons

our weapons inspectors can't find anything

and we're passing it off as just: "oh, we have crappy weapons inspectors" in stead of actually thinking that means something

aren't we supposed to be the most technologically powerful nation in the world?

[I would say 'technologically advanced' but I know China and Japan have us beat there]

don't you think we can find freaking weapons of mass destruction if we really try?

the big thing now is: North Korea has a weapon that could attack the West Coast

I hardly know where to start

but I'll try anyway

A) North Korea is an entirely different country than Iraq

B) just because they could doesn't mean they will

C) what makes the West Coast so special? I mean, if their having a missile that could attack the West Coast specifically(rather than just America as a whole) now is such a big thing; it means that they must've had a missile that could hit the East Coast before

why was that not something to worry about?

what, is Bush stupid enough and in charge to such a degree that he'll think: "well, at least half the country will be left" and have everyone listen to him?

it's dumb, folks

and the best is: on The Daily Show, they showed a clip of CIA(I believe) officials being interviewed by someone important(like Congress or the Supreme Court or something); and the interviewers asked if North Korea has that capability

the spokesman for the officials turned to his pals and talked for a second, and then said: "the declassified answer is: yes"

now, in all seriousness, the classified answer is probably: "We're not entirely sure, but there is a high probability"

the point of all this being: there is no Goddamn reason to go to war right now

and the reason we are is:

our economy is failing; Bush, being the mildly retarded jackass he is, figures: "well, World War II pulled us out of The Great Depression; so a good war would help us now.", and the "war on terror" wasn't enough to do it

I could literally spend what's left of the night and a good portion of tomorrow giving my conspiracy theories about how the government staged 9/11; but I'll spare you

suffice to say that the government staged 9/11 so that the People of America's faith in their country would be restored; and the subsequent "war on terror" would pull us out of our recession

watch "Canadian Bacon" and you will get the gist of the plan

the "war on terror" isn't a real enough war that it will cause massive loss of life and other such consequences of a real war; but it will have the economic benefits and restored patriotism that wars(to some effect) have

that didn't work

so now we're going to go to war with someone that Bush has born a grudge against every since his daddy had problems with them: Iraq

no one likes Iraq, and they're really not that much of a threat

they weren't that much of one in the first place; and ever since they got nuetered in Desert Storm they're still not one, so we'll go to war with them

same plan as before; but closer to an actual war

and to up the ante; the government instills the fear of "biological weapons" in us

honestly, biological weapons are something to be afraid of

but they're also the greatest prop for something like this

since a biological weapon could be something as small as a vial in the freezer of some Iraqi secret service agent; there's no way to say with absolute certainty wether they do or don't have them

so they can use that as a threat against us even when it can be said with relative certainty that they don't

Americans are scared; meanwhile the CIA is highly sure that said Americans won't be stricken with airborne herpes or some such thing; so it's safe to go to war

and all of it is just Bush's half-assed way to try and fix the problem of our economy without actually fixing it

and doing something that he probably wanted to do ever since he watched his dad do it:

go to war as president

it's all a load of bullshit, and just one more reason why America isn't a great example for a good and righteous country/government

but oh well, I've bored you far too long with my political ramblings, rhetoric and conspiracy theories

Sweet Dreams

Turn on tha radio, nah fuck it turn it off

Fear is your only god on the radio

Nah fuck it, turn it off

Turn it off, turn on tha radio, nah fuck it turn it off

Fear is your only god on the radio

Nah fuck it, your saviour's my guillotine, crosses and kerosene

Merge on tha networks, slangin' nerve gas

Up jump tha boogie then bang, let 'em hang

While tha paraniod try ta stuff tha void

Let's capture this AM mayhem

Undressed, and blessed by tha Lord

Tha power pendulum swings by tha umbilical cord

Shock around tha clock, from noon 'til noon

Men grabbin' they mics, and stuff 'em into tha womb

Terror's tha product ya push

Well I'm a truth addict, oh shit I gotta headrush

Sheep tremble an here come tha votes

Thrown from tha throat, new cages an scapegoats

Undressed and blessed by tha Lord

Tha same devil that ran around Managua wit a sword

Check out tha new style that Ollie found

I tune in wit a bullet ta shut down tha devil sound

Shut down tha devil sound

Tha program of Vietnow

Shut down tha devil sound

Turn on the radio, nah fuck it turn it off

Fear is your only god on the radio

Nah fuck it, turn it off

Turn it off, turn on the radio, nah fuck it turn it off

Fear is your only god on the radio

Nah fuck it, your saviour's my guillotine, crosses and kerosene

Flex tha cerebellum, fire, uh!

Somebody gotta shell 'em

These evil angels lists, hittin' tha AM playlist

Paid ta say this

That one inhuman, illegal, single woman

Tha one wit out a room

The transmissions wippin' our backs

Yeah, comin' down like bats from Stacy Coon

Terror's tha product ya push

Well I'm a truth addict, oh shit I gotta headrush

Tha sheep tremble an here come tha votes

Thrown from tha throat, new cages and scapegoats

One caution tha mics a detonator unwound

Ta shut down tha devil sound

Shut down tha devil sound

Check tha heads bow in vietnow

Shut down tha devil sound

Is all tha world jails and churches?

Is all tha world jails and churches?

Is all tha world jails and churches?

Is all tha world jails and churches?

Is all tha world jails and churches?

Radio, nah fuck it, turn it off

Fear is your only god on tha radio

Nah fuck it, turn it off

Turn it off, turn on tha radio, nah fuck it turn it off

Fear is your only god on tha radio

Nah fuck it, your saviour's my guillotine, crosses and kerosene

Fear is your, fear is your, fear is your only god

Fear is your, fear is your, fear is your only god

Fear is your, fear is your, fear is your only god

Fear is your, fear is your, fear is your only god

-Vietnow

(a very appropriate title)

Rage Against the Machine