"Adapted" 2003-02-16 - 2:54 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I had a pretty good day today

saw 'Adaptation' (which I've been really wanting to see) with Stephanie and Erin

it was a good movie, not like what I expected, but still good

and I had thought that Charlie's twin brother Donald(both Nicholas Cage) was an alternate personality

like Tyler Durden and the Narrator in Fight Club

kind of a better, more charismatic version of Charlie; what he wanted to be

but he wasn't

he was actually his twin brother

and he wasn't all that much better of a person

still a good movie

the only real flaw is that it was directed by Spike Jonze

don't get me wrong, I love Spike Jonze;

he directs great music videos(with the exception of 'Praise You' by Fatboy Slim; that one sucked), and he was a co-creator of Jackass

but as a movie director he's average

'Adaptation' was an absolutely genius concept;

and the way that it ended up with him writing the movie as it happened

ie -

Charlie(sitting in his car): "it will end with Charlie in a car thinking about how he'll end the movie with Charlie in a car"

it doesn't make much sense, and I can't think of a way to type it how it would make sense; but if you saw it you'd understand

anyway, it was such a genius concept; and Spike Jonze managed to turn it into just an average movie

if they had gotten a really good director to handle it,

M. Night Shyamalan(or someone of his ilk) maybe;

it could've been beautiful

after that we drove around for half an hour looking for a place for Erin to get something to eat

man is she picky

I don't mind driving around, as a matter of fact I love to drive; and I had a full tank of gas

but for some reason it just bothers me to be driving around for no reason

I guess it goes back to my extreme distaste for all things pointless

but whatever

after that we went to Andru's;

I feel bad 'cause I was kind of a dick over there

but oh well, it's not like I was a complete asshole

and I wouldn't feel so bad if it wasn't the first time we really hung out

if he knew that I'm not always like that then I wouldn't feel so bad

but it's too late

hopefully I'll have time to make a better impression

Erin talked a lot about my stomach too

probably because Andru has a serious stomach illness; and it's interesting that her little sister's friend has a similar problem as her friend

but it's wierd, she seemed more concerned than my parents

and she actually listened, instead of just telling me what's wrong without knowing; and how I should deal with it

which makes her more concerned than my parents and my doctor combined

which is sad; really

and it was funny to hear Stephanie complain about how 'annoyed' she was with Evan 'cause he said he would hang out with her and he went and hung out with someone else instead

she's done that to me several times

ah, well

I tried to avoid my mom all day today

woke up after she went to work; went to the mall when she came home for her lunch-break; went out with Steph and Erin before she got home from work; and stayed out until after she went to bed

my plan almost worked, but when I went into the kitchen to let the dog out and get a snack my mom came out there to adjust the thermostat

she was only out there for a second and I managed to ignore her, so for the most part I guess I succeeded

tomorrow I'll be ready to see her again; but I can't deal with her after last night

that fucking sucked, in every way shape and form

oh well,

tomorrow I'm gonna go sell my Dreamcast at EB, and hopefully get enough money to buy something worthwhile

hopefully Steph will call; if not I'll just go by myself

I have no idea why I don't ever feel like hanging out with anyone else anymore

I guess it's just because I haven't seen or talked to anyone else in so long; and it's always awkward hanging out with someone after you haven't talked to them in a while

someday I'll get over that, I promise

I just hope my Valentine was enough to make up for my assholery to Robyn

and the entry will end with Brett typing about how the entry will end

Sweet Dreams