"No Woman, Still Cry" 2003-02-08 - 5:13 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I find myself suddenly depressed for some reason

I've only been awake for an hour

(yeah, I've got fucked up sleeping habits)

and at first I was feeling downright jovial, I was joking with my family over dinner; and feeling good as I perused the internet

but now a sudden wave of loneliness has overwhelmed me

how utterly alone I am

*strikes melodramatic pose and brushes hair in face like The Cure*

jokes don't serve to lighten my mood

I saw my friends last night, and as good as that felt, that's only half the area a person needs to feel loved in

and I'm not talking about sex

at all

I want a girlfriend

scratch that

I need a girlfriend

I'm listening to "No Woman, No Cry" by Bob Marley

it doesn't cheer me up, and it doesn't make me feel like the song says,

but it takes the edge off of it

instead of feeling the pain like a knife ripping into me; now it's just a dull ache

and that's what I want

I abhorr being cheered up

but I don't like being so depressed it's physically painful

which happens a lot, nowadays

and this song gets me through

but I still wish I had a real person, and not just a song

No, woman, no cry;

No, woman, no cry;

No, woman, no cry;

No, woman, no cry.

Said - said - said: I remember when we used to sit

In the government yard in Trenchtown,

Oba - obaserving the 'ypocrites

As they would mingle with the good people we meet.

Good friends we have, oh, good friends we've lost

Along the way.

In this great future, you can't forget your past;

So dry your tears, I seh.

No, woman, no cry;

No, woman, no cry.

'Ere, little darlin', don't shed no tears:

No, woman, no cry.

Said - said - said: I remember when-a we used to sit

In the government yard in Trenchtown.

And then Georgie would make the fire lights,

As it was logwood burnin' through the nights.

Then we would cook cornmeal porridge,

Of which I'll share with you;

My feet is my only carriage,

So I've got to push on through.

But while I'm gone, I mean:

Everything's gonna be all right!

Everything's gonna be all right!

Everything's gonna be all right!

Everything's gonna be all right!

I said, everything's gonna be all right-a!

Everything's gonna be all right!

Everything's gonna be all right, now!

Everything's gonna be all right!

So, woman, no cry;

No - no, woman - woman, no cry.

Woman, little sister, don't shed no tears;

No, woman, no cry.

I remember when we used to sit

In the government yard in Trenchtown.

And then Georgie would make the fire lights,

As it was logwood burnin' through the nights.

Then we would cook cornmeal porridge,

Of which I'll share with you;

My feet is my only carriage,

So I've got to push on through.

But while I'm gone:

No, woman, no cry;

No, woman, no cry.

Woman, little darlin', say don't shed no tears;

No, woman, no cry.

Eh! (Little darlin', don't shed no tears!

No, woman, no cry.

Little sister, don't shed no tears!

No, woman, no cry.)

-No Woman, No Cry

Bob Marley