"The Wall (and how "The Faculty" is a movie for whores)" 2003-01-30 - 10:34 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

there's no reason for me to be updating right now,

but when I was trying to get back to sleep after watching Dark Shadows I pissed myself off, and now I have to vent

I was laying there thinking, and my the course of my thoughts led me to think about playing at "Doradostock"("my" school's lame attempt at a concert with all student bands), which has been kind of a goal of mine; and I was trying to decide wether or not to cover Rock N Roll High School by the Ramones or The Wall by Pink Floyd

and that led to me thinking of the "Dream-Group" cover of The Wall with Layne Staley on vocals and Tom Morello on guitar

and the only thing bad with that song is that it's associated with that shit movie, "The Faculty"

and here's where the anger comes in

I hate that movie

like, really fucking hate it

to be fair it wasn't that bad a movie

at first it actually creeped me out, by how the aliens were getting to everyone

and the idea of using cocaine to fight aliens is certainly novel

but the ending;

the ending is the devil

I hate hate hate the ending of that movie

I mean, they take the time to fight against being assimilated by aliens

(and they actually have the nerve to point out somewhere that they 'didn't get assimilated' or something to that effect)

and then they just get assimilated by society

I mean, it's this bunch of misfits fighting off aliens

and then they just fade into conformity

Elijah Wood's nerdy character becomes popular

the cool Goth Chick(Graham from "But I'm a Cheerleader") ends up dating a football player, and the last time we see her she's wearing a pink top and floral skirt(ie-preppy)

and drug dealing anti-establishment Josh Hartnett ends up joining the football team

and I forget the other examples, but all the characters get their non-conformist traits wiped away after they defeat the aliens

they spend all this time and energy trying not to be assimilated by the aliens

then they turn around and get assimilated by the "moral majority"

and then,

they have the NERVE

to use The Wall

that anti-conformity anthem

as the premier song for this pro-conformity piece of shit movie

it makes me want to jump up and down and scream obscenities before I start passing out DDTs

they have the nerve to use The Wall(the characters actually appeared in the music video, and I don't just mean in clips of the movie; they actually sang along and such)(and such a good version of it at that), when all the characters ending up becoming 'just bricks in the wall'

it's disgusting

and more than a little infuriating

so despite the fact that it's a cover of a fucking amazing song

with a fucking amazing vocalist

and a fucking amazing guitarist

it's for a fucking disgusting movie

and this makes me angry

and I will now turn into The Hulk and smash my house

Later