"Unbreakable" 2003-01-23 - 12:56 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

today was one of those "drastic turn" days

started out terrible

kind of drifted through my day on autopilot, in a mildly depressed haze

with my dad continuing to give me crap about how he thinks my life should be run

I even had to warn my mom

I told her that she better tell my dad to get the fuck off my back or I'm gonna end up yelling at him

tomorrow

*sigh*

but then came the drastic twist

Raven debuted in NWATNA today

just two days after he left WWE

and his move is back to being called the Evenflow DDT

fuck yes

oh, and guess what?

he's the fucking champ already

well, I'm not sure about that

but I know that at the end of the show he ran out and Evenflowed the current champ(Jeff Jarrett, who I've never liked) and took his belt. I don't think that makes him the champion, but it's still a fucking major step up

a week ago he jobbed(lost) to Jeff Hardy(who in all fairness I like, but has been performing kinda sloppily lately)

the latest embarassment after over two years of misuse, dropped angles, and downright horrible treatment

in ECW he was a top star, in WCW he was the head of the second biggest stable(group) in the federation; and a big star

he's one of the most technically sound wrestlers out there, and even better on the mic

he puts on a damn good show

and he has probably the biggest cult following in wrestling(as opposed to casual followings like most every other superstar)

and when he went to WWE he proceeded to be turned into a low-level jobber that never got any mic time and lost 9/10's of his matches

and earlier this week he was released

over two years of being a nobody despite being one of the most talented performes in the sport

he gets released, and two days later he's the world champ

that's just good karma

and nothing he doesn't deserve

if there's any justice in the world he'll lead NWA into a TV Deal, and eventually have it outshine WWE

who, with its horrible angles and terrible product, is merely counting the days until it goes under

that was good news

oh yeah

then I watched "Unbreakable"

one of the best concepts for a movie I've ever seen, and backed up by Shyamalan's genius directing

as soon as I'm finished typing this I'm adding it to my favorites*

the only draw-back is that the ending redifines the words "anti-climactic"

and the odd thing is that if they had simply not included the post scripts, it would be one of the better endings in movie history

all they would've had to do,

was cut out the type over the screen

but I've noticed a genius trick that Shyamalan uses that really enhances the atmosphere

he turns the color down slightly(a la "Payback")

it's a really good trick

you turn the color down almost imperceptly(admittedly Payback it was a bit more obvious), so that it pretty much looks normal; but then when you want to emphasize a certain object/person/whatever, you simply leave it's color normal

it works well because it's subtle

if I wasn't such a geek I probably wouldn't've even caught it

but it works well in that you don't notice there's anything going on, but you can't help but focus on the object that has its color normal

the way Shyamalan uses it, is that Bruce Willis' character, David, has this power(in addition to the titular 'unbreakability'), that whenever he touches someone who's done something 'evil'; he has a sort of flashback of what they did(a la "The Deadzone")

and what Shyamalan does, is that everyone who he has a flashback for, is wearing a solid colored shirt/jacket/jumpsuit/whatever, and that article of clothing has its color normal

so after David has the 'flashback' for the person, he'll watch them walk away through the crowd, and you stay focused on their bright garment, while the rest of the dull crowd passes around them

it's a nice subtle trick that works very well

anyway, that's my movie review for the night

Sweet Dreams

*-(edit note, although it's a very good movie; it didn't beat out any of my current favorites, so sadly it's stuck in the 'etc.' one)