"Anyone Can Play Guitar" 2003-01-16 - 1:57 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I'm sick of everything

all the stupid dramatic shit plagueing my own and everyone else's diaries lately

I'm going to talk about my guitar

my accoustic is pretty crappy, it's a cheap one that my grandparents probably got at Sears or something for my mom back in the '70s

it actually looks kinda intricate, but considering certain aspects of the thing; I'm pretty sure it's the cheap kind

when I inherited it(I guess you'd say)

it still had the same strings it had on it from when my mom decided she wasn't the musician-type BACK IN THE '70S

yep, the strings on the damn thing were older than me

and dirtier too

they hurt like a bitch to play, too

but the other day I bought new ones and changed them, so now I can actually play the thing without the callouses on my fingers getting cut all to hell

now when guitar strings can cut your callouses, then they're freakind hardcore

someone without callouses would've probably bled all over the thing

something about the bridge of it is messed up though, so a few strings have this 'twangy' sound to them that throws the whole sound off

makes it a bitch to tune, too

my electric on the other hand; is a quality piece of work

it's a DeArmond "Jet Star Special"(or at least I assume that's what it is, it says: 'Jet Star Spel' on it; and I'm assuming it's short for 'special')

it's cherry red(I got it when red was my favorite color), and has this unique body shape

the guitarist from my first band called it "tornado" style or something like that

it's got two humbucker(double pick ups) pick-ups

and this wierd switch instead of a tremolo bar

I didn't even know what it did until I saw the guitarist of Pure Rubbish(the band that backed up Kelly Osbourne at the MTV Movie Awards) use his

it's pretty sweet

cost my parents about $350 with case, strap, amp, chord, tuner, and an extra set of strings

yeah, it was pretty expensive; but that was back when my family could afford stuff like that

I've learned quite a few songs, and even wrote one of my own(mine's pretty sad though[and not in the emotional way, in the shit quality way])

I've learned the ten I alread listed

(Blue on Black by Kenny Wayne Shepard; Jane Says; Good Riddance; Space Oddity; Quicksand; What the Hell Have I?, Sludge Factory, and Killer is Me by Alice in Chains; Sober; and Drain You)

and then Feel the Pain by Dinosaur Jr and Heroes by David Bowie

Heroes I'm a little shaky on, just because I'm not sure if I got the right lyrics(I found about three or four different versions and picked the one I liked best), and the chords I found don't sound exact

but whatever

it'll work

I recorded myself singing and playing today

and to my surprise I actually didn't suck

I was expecting to have to convince myself that I could pass as a lead singer

but I surprised myself as being good enough

so yeah, that's my shallow entry

it's not enough to take care of the obscene amount of melodramatic crap

but it's a start

a step in a different direction at least

Sweet Dreams

destiny, destiny, protect me from the world

destiny, hold my hand, protect me from the world

here we are with our running and confusion

and I don't see no confusion anywhere

and if the worm does turn

and if London burns

i'll be standing on the beach with my guitar

i want to be in a band when I get to heaven

anyone can play guitar

and they won't be a nothing any more

grow my hair, grow my hair, I am Jim Morrison

grow my hair, I wanna be, wanna be, wanna be, Jim Morrison

here we are with our running and confusion

and I don't see no confusion anymore

and if the worm does turn

and if London burns

i'll be standing on the beach with my guitar

i wanna be in a band when I get to heaven

anyone can play guitar

and they won't be a nothing any more

-Anyone Can Play Guitar

Radiohead