"Anyone Can Play Guitar" 2003-01-12 - 1:33 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I'd like to apologize to everyone about the whole "quiz" thing

it was an utter failure that had no bearing on anything

but I've gotten my e-mail address changed

since I no longer listen to the Misfits nor play bass; I've changed it to [email protected]

and speaking of no longer playing bass;

I learned three new songs today

THREE!

not to mention that they're three of my favorite Alice in Chains songs

"What the Hell Have I?" from the Last Action Hero soundtrack

"Sludge Factory" the Unplugged version, which actually differs from the album version

and "The Killer Is Me" from Unplugged

three of my favorite songs, that I can now play

Killer is Me doesn't have a solo, but the other two do, and I'm a little shoddy on them simply because the tabs I used didn't have them, and I can't tab anything on my own

I can improvise the WTHHI? solo enough that a non Alice fan(or at most a casual one who rarely hears that song) couldn't tell I'm winging it

and Sludge Factory has two solos; one that goes during the chorus, and one that is kind of a pre-chorus the third time around

I've got the chorus but not the pre-chorus

so I just do like the tab says(even though it's wrong) and play the chorus solo in front

in other news, I hung out with Steph and Evan and Cody and Catherine today

I called Robyn, but sadly she was baby-sitting

and Catherine is beyond groovy

I'm always saying I want to get to know her

and the more I learn about her the more I want to learn

she's just so bloody cool

but yeah

now that Steph has a trampoline that's their favorite thing to do at her house

and since my back has been killing me all day from when I was on there yesterday, I figured it would be a bad idea for me to go on there again

so what do I do when Evan asks if anyone knows how to do the Worm?

why, I act like a retard and take my shoes and such off and go do it

now, if I had just jumped, maybe things wouldn't've been so bad

but the worm is not the thing to do when your back is sore as hell

I got about two ups and downs that looked good, and then my back started having shooting pains and the last two ups and downs were stiff as all hell

not to mention they hurt like a bitch

and ever since then my back has been extra-killing me, and I'm sore all over

and I don't mean to sound like I'm bitching, but while I am; I might as well get off my chest that I've had a little bit of a sinus cold the past two days that's been bugging the shit out of me

that's why I took those pills last night that had me passing out

but yeah,

Robyn is so sad

I wish I could help her

back in the day my heart would break when I read her diary

every fiber of my being would cry out to take her pain away

even if it destroyed me

now when I read it

I feel like one might should they see a dead unicorn on the side of the road, as if it had been hit by a car

such beauty shattered

such wonder silenced

my heart breaks for it, but I know there's nothing I can do; so I drive on

and it's not like I haven't tried

but I'm not the one to help her

I'm not what she needs

...goddamnit

Sweet Dreams

you insult me in my home you're forgiven this time

things go well your eyes dilate you shake and I'm high?

look in my eyes deep and watch the clouds change with time

twenty hours won't print my picture milk-carton size

carton size

carton size

call me up, congratulations ain't the real why

there's no pressure besides brilliance, let's say by day nine

endless corporate ignorance lets me control time

by the way

by the way

once again, you see an in

discolored skin gives you away

so afraid, you kindly gurgle

out a date for me

now the body of one soul I adore wants to die

you have always told me you'd not live past twenty-five

I say stay long enough to repay all who cause strife

once again, you see an in

discolored skin gives you away

so afraid, you kindly gurgle

out a date for me

-Sludge Factory

Alice in Chains