"To be, or not to be [a bass player]?" 2002-11-24 - 1:56 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I'm thinking of giving up bass and just being a singer

my reason being that while I'm getting better at writing lyrics; I can't write bass-lines for crap

and I can't improvise on bass

whilst I can improvise the blues at least singing

and I can even freestyle

no shit

anyway

I'm not taking this lightly

everyone seems to think I'm very good at bass

[and I am]

plus I enjoy playing

but I simply can't write my own stuff

with lyrics it didn't take me long at all before I started not to suck at writing them

[although I've only got one song so far that I'm really proud of]

but I've been writing bass-lines forever and they all suck

but at the same time I feel uncomfortable about just singing

it seems far too easy

my voice has improved greatly

[and I mean GREATLY]

since the last time anyone else has heard me sing

and I'm not worried about who'd replace me on bass in the band

Misty would do it almost definitely; and if not her then I'm sure we could get either Chris or Trevor would probably know someone

but the fact is everyone sees me as a bass player first

and that's not without reason

and I'm hesitant to just say "nope, that's not me anymore"

at the same time that goes against my beliefs

in that you shouldn't do something just because you feel you have to; that's the worst reason to do anything

but...

I don't know

advice would be appreciated

and I've rebuilt my profile so you can just leave me notes again

so much thought over something that might be moot...