"Get Born Again" 2002-11-03 - 1:46 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

there's nothing new with me

it bites ass

it's starting to become physically painful

still suffering from my stomach problem

nothing new there

and as such I haven't done anything new

life pretty much sucks for me right now

I think when I get this treated or cured(crossing my fingers) or whatever; I'm going to appreciate my life a hell of a lot more and actually do stuff

practice with my band every day

get shit done

find a goddamn job

not sit around and do nothing then whine about how nothing's getting done

but that's a story for another time

for now I just have to wait and hope

I was able to actually get out of the house for a few hours friday; went to Best Buy with a gift card my uncle sent me as a belated birthday present

got some CDs and a DVD collection of all Alice in Chains' videos

which is fucking sick

it's so awesome

Alice in Chains is one of the few bands out there with really above average videos

now see, most bands have really average videos; sure, sometimes concept videos have really good stories, or the band is really good at performing

but there's very few bands who take the art of video making to another level; and really experiment with what they can do and make a unique and dare I say "trippy" video

Tool is the very best at it

I think since the beginning of videos back in '82 when MTV got started; no one has ever come close to doing it as well as Tool

but off the top of my head Alice in Chains is the only other band to come close

now I'm not just saying that because they're my favorite band

I really like Nirvana and Soundgarden too;

and while both of those bands have good videos(I really like Black Hole Sun in particular), neither of them really break new ground and create a really 'above average' video

Alice in Chains does though

and I'm very happy

of course there's also the disturbing sub-plot of Layne's decaying health

there's little home video footage in between the music videos; but it all starts with a documentary some TV station made of them back in '89

and in that and the earlier videos(when he has long hair) he has this look of hapiness and hope about him. Some of it probably has to do with how young he looks; but he overall just looks happy

in the later videos after he cut his hair, he has an overall look of sadness

he just looks less hopefull, I guess

and it culminates with some footage from MTV Unplugged; which was filmed after the band stopped touring and kind of dropped from "active duty" due to his heroin problems

he looks like hell

it looks like the "grunge look" is no longer a choice for him; like he just can't physically keep himself in good hygiene

he looks like he hasn't shaved in a week or two(whereas he always looked shaved before), his hair is died red but it's faded and somewhat grown out; and his hair just overall looks unkempt

and worst of all is that his eyes look black, not his eyes themselves but his eyelids and area around them

Jerry sings the song they show, and for most of it Layne sits with his eyes closed and looks like he's fighting not to fall asleep

it's really sad

and thinking about it now; about all the rumors they talked about on the snippet they gave him in a VH1 documentary["most shocking moments" or some such thing] where they talked about his death,

about how he started shooting up in his hands and lost fingers, about how he lost his teeth and couldn't sing;

and just the fact that no one must have really seen him for so long so that these rumors could spread

to think that that's how the life of that hopeful kid(practically) in the documentary at the beginning; and not to mention one of the greatest voices in Rock & Roll ended, is pretty sad

great

now I'm all depressed about that again

shit

I'll write when I have something interesting to write about again

Sad suffering

I knew you when

Fairwell thee friend of mine

I try not to think

I merely blink

Hope to wish away the lies...

I...

Can you protect

Me when I'm wrecked

I'll pretend you're still alive

I choose the day

One death and grey,

Thick fog, I hide and smile

Clear all your sins

Get born again

Just repeat a couple lies

Lies... yeah

Sad suffering.....

Get born again....

-Get Born Again

Alice in Chains