"Blood Feast" 2002-09-22 - 12:57 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

Today was pretty good. Getting up this morning wasn't as hard as I thought it was going to be. I just went back to sleep when I got home anyway. Robyn was busy and I couldn't get ahold of Stephanie at all; but I managed to occupy myself quite well. Called the places I applied at, checked Pet Smart AGAIN, walked around that plaza in the morning. Then I went to look for Mad Season's album. I was impressed, it was in the second place I looked. Considering I didn't expect to find it at all I was thrilled. And it is an amazing album. Sheer amazingness at its best. I expected it to be good but it left my expectations in the dust. Ironically, this is what I was thinking my "band" is going to sound like if we ever find a drummer. And if I'm right then we're definitely going to sound good. It's really kind of a softer album, although it has its fast songs; and they're all amazing. I'd recommend this to anyone. No matter what their tastes. Unless they liked nsync or something, then I wouldn't be talking to them at all probably....

but anyway. After I found the album I went down to Wilson and listened to it and drew some of my comic; then I watched the sunset. If I can ever manage to get my friends to hang out with me again; I'm definitely making us hang out there more often. And if I can't, then I'm going to be spending a lot more of my time there. It was great. Anyway, I didn't even watch Fright Night tonight. Lately it's just been stupid. See, the very first episode was just called "William Shatner's Fright Night" and they played any bad movies. Then it turned into "Full Moon Fright Night with William Shatner"; where they show exclusively Full Moon pictures. Now, Full Moon sucks. Occasionaly they'll get it right and make a movie worth watching, but overall they're terrible. See, their fatal flaw is that they're *trying* to make bad movies. When *ANYONE* tries to make a bad movie, they'll succeed; it just won't be the fun kind of bad that they're shooting for. The true recipe for a bad movie is a production that's not quite up to standard; and a huge flaw in the planning. Either a moron director, or writer, or something. But when the studio has the funds to do it right, and there's a flaw, it usually doesn't end up fun; which is why newer bad movies usually aren't bad in the good way. Or it can be the opposite. There can be a genius director or writer with absolutely no production value. Either way the results are fun for the whole family. But when you have good production and a competent directing/writing team, but they're trying to make it look bad; it'll just be stupid. Which is why "Full Moon Fright Night with William Shatner" went from the savior of television to just another dumb show. But this one flaunts my dearest values(religion? *phht* who needs Jesus when I've got Lucio Fulci?) right in my face. Bastards. William Shatner, why hast thou forsaken me? That guy went from my hero for hosting that show in the first place to the same idiot singing horrible songs for Priceline.com that he was before it all started. But speaking of Lucio Fulci; I got "Seven Doors of Death"(/the Beyond/several other obscure titles that are required for all italian horror movies) last week. I haven't gotten around to watching it yet. Now, you have to understand something about horror movies overall, just as a general rule. As far as American horror movies go, the most violent are zombie films. And as far as zombie films go, the most violent are George Romero's. He usually has Tom Savini along for the ride, making them a realistic gore-fest for the strongest-stomachs only. But the thing about italian horror movies is: they're all that violent. Even the tamest ones over there match Romero's films gallon of blood for gallon of blood. And the quality is just as high. And of course the most violent of Italian films, are zombie flicks. Italian zombie movies are hard-f'ing-core. A scene from "Let Sleeping Corpses Lie"(that even got to me!) sticks out in my mind where some zombies came up behind a receptionist and tore her breast off. As sick as it sounds. People vomitting up their guts is nothing special in those films, and it's all done well enough that it looks completely real. And, the worst of the italian zombie movies are Lucio Fulci's films. This guy makes 9/10ths of the zombie films in italy, and he makes sure that every bit of violence is full-on and in your face. He also has a thing for eyes. I would go on; but I just realized how long I've spent talking about this. I apologize, it's just that this is my favorite topic. I don't really spend a lot of my time talking to people anymore, and when I do I don't get to discuss horror films. But anyway, that's it for me. Whatever I was supposed to be talking about got lost in my loving descriptions of violence, so I'll leave it at that. Sweet Dreams.