"Po' Folks" 2002-09-12 - 1:31 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

woo-hoo, it's official: September 11th is over. That's not gonna stop everyone from talking about it for the next week or so, but at least the day is past. I should clarify something, though. If there's anyone from New York or anyone who lost someone in the attack reading this: What happened was a tragedy. Thousands of people died, and that is truly cause for sorrow. But the absolute media frenzy and sloughs of propaganda bullshit that have been caused by it are just that: bullshit. In Afghanistan and other such war-torn countries; buildings being destroyed are daily occurences. Except they're not done with planes, they're done with bombs. And in Afghanistan they're done by us. For the thousands of people(most of them civilians) who die in places like that every day; the living have to go on. But over here; we get attacked once and a year later we're still treating it like God came down and stomped on those buildings himself. People just have to realize that there's nothing left to do, and waving an american flag around isn't going to make a damn bit of difference. But oh well, as I said: it's over. Talked to two friends of mine I haven't talked to in months today. It was nice to catch up. I haven't heard from Robyn in a while, she hasn't even written in her diary. I'm starting to get worried. Admittedly it's only been a few days, but still. I have to find a job this weekend. I should have my car by the weekend after that; and I need to be able to pay for insurance. I was going to go talk to Erin today; but Evan said she got off at 5; and when I got home I slept from before my parents got home to exactly 5 o'clock. I doubt I'm going to be able to get a job in time. I'm going to apply places this weekend; but the odds of my getting hired are slim to nill. And the odds of my getting hired and starting work in the near future are practically zero. *sigh* plus my mom doesn't grasp the concept of being broke. We're starting to really hurt for cash again; so much so that she has to take two jobs. But yet she still spends money like there's nothing wrong. And she has this really bad habit of when we get really low getting pissed off and being like: 'screw it, let's just buy whatever we want!' so she goes out and spends more money. I keep telling her: "mom, you have to learn to live like po' folk"(I cut off the last half of the word because I'm a Nappy Roots fan) but she just laughs. When we have to sell our house her ass won't be laughing. And neither will I. But hopefully it won't come to that. Ah well. Things are sucking right now; but oddly enough I feel good for the most part. I need a job. Too bad nowhere wants to hire me. *sigh*, I'll just have to try, and pray I get one. I'd be set if they'd just hire me at Pet Smart; that's the only place I feel I even have a chance; but nothing's come of it so far. Dah. I'm going to sleep; my sleeping pill is catching up to me. Sweet Dreams.