"Bridge of Ashes" 2002-09-11 - 1:03 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I must be really becoming a frontman; I'm starting to vent my emotions through song. I realize the last one I posted in here just sounds really awkward without the proper rythm; but it's too late to explain that. I wrote that insomnia song I wanted; and I'll post that in here someday; but right now I have one that I wrote to vent my frustrations with Evan; even though it could be applied to any of my friendships that have turned sour. Anyway; the rythm structure for this one is a bit off; but I'll try and explain it as I go. Right now I'm calling it "Bridge of Ashes"; as in a burned bridge; but I'll probably change it if I come up with something less cryptic/pretentious. Anyway, here we go:

(Slow Part)

I was thinkin' 'bout yesterday

how I wish those times would've stayed

I thought that you were my best friend

but I guess those times had to end

(Faster Part)

I tried so hard for you

tried to see this through

I gave you every chance

our friendship's in the past

(Chorus A)

NOW! you wanna be angry at me?

HOW! do you dare point your finger at me?

(Chorus B)

For everything that I've done wrong;

you have done it worse

For every last mistake I've made;

you have made it first

(Verse)

now you act like you're hurt

you say that I'm the jerk

but if what you say is true

then it's twice as true for you

(Chorus A variation)

NOW! you say that you forgive me?

WHAT! makes you think you're any better than me?

(Chorus B)

(Solo)

(Chorus A)

(Chorus B)

(Slow Part)

I was thinkin' 'bout yesterday

about how those time just couldn't stay

looking back it makes me question

was your friendship genuine?

(The End)

Comments? Suggestions for a better title? All are welcome. Constructive criticism only, please