"Goin' Back to Cali" 2002-09-08 - 11:49 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I'm going going, back back, to Cali Cali. Yep. See, if you remember; my Uncle who's giving me the van is driving here; then renting a truck(I was wrong about the flying) to drive the rest of the way to New York. So on Wednesday I'm flyin' out to LA so that Thursday we can drive back here. Originally I wasn't going to but I think the more time I can spend away from here the better. Plus I'll get to miss German and Government class. Oh yeah, and in case any of you have been living in a hole(lucky bastards) Wednesday is September 11th. That day holds no significance for me other than "oh crap, now I have to listen to everyone talk about September 11th". Yeah, a lot of people died that day; and they deserve a memorial; but that day is not being remembered for the people that died; it's being remembered for the country it happened in; namely the U.S.. I mean "Patriot Day", what the hell is that? If I was in those towers I sure as hell wouldn't want everyone saying the pledge instead of having a moment of silence for me. Anyway; there's nothing I can do about it; America has turned into a fascist nation. They'll probably be sending those that protest to camps before long. Ten years from now; if they don't delete this; this will probably be the place to read the last thoughts of the first person sent to the "Un-American Camps". You just wait, you'll see. Unless everything gets bombed to hell before they get that far. Anyway; didn't get to practice today. It would've been nice if Evan would've told us he had work before we planned our practice around him. I don't know, he may not have known beforehand; but given his past record I don't think he deserves much slack in this department; no matter how much I like him. The sad thing is that Drummy is going to Westpoint before too long; which leaves Evan as our only option. He's a damn good drummer and a cool guy; but actually getting him to show up is a pain in the ass. It took weeks to get him to show up when we started the Mole People; and he's the one who quit in the first place. And even now he's not sure if he wants to join the band. So in keeping with my pessimism; my "new band" is pretty much as dead as the Mole People. I'll be more than happy to be proven wrong here; but I'm not expecting it. Man, I've really been slamming Evan in here lately. I don't know. He's a cool guy. Most of the time. And days away from getting my car; my "almost guaranteed" job is accenting the 'almost'. I applied there a couple weeks ago and they haven't called me; and my stupid lazy ass hasn't gotten around to checking in there. Well, I went today, but Erin wasn't there. And I figured I better not ask anyone else because on the off chance they decided there was no time like the present to interview me; I didn't look that presentable. I really didn't think it was going to happen; but the fact was I figured if they haven't called me by now they're not going to; no matter how many times I check in. Which means I have to try applying other places again. *Phht*. Nowhere has hired me yet; nowhere has hired my cousin(who quit his job at about the same time as I quit mine and has been looking just as long)yet. It's going on a year, and there's not a goddamn place in town hiring. They must have found the employees they like and just decided to stick with them. Either that or I'm even less attractive than I thought I was. I should just give in and go back to fast food; but I swore I'd go hungry first. And if that includes not being able to afford a free van; then so be it. Meh. I have rambled too long. Sweet Dreams.