"In The End" 2002-09-03 - 3:17 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

***Warning***

This is a Silent Hill entry; if you want "real" stuff, go check out the last one. I promise this will be the last entry centered around Silent Hill

*************

Well, despite what I said earlier I played the game again; and I beat it. I can't help but feel that it was anti-climactic, because I had the action set on "beginner". Yeah, I know, I felt bad about it alot; but I figured as paranoid as I am I don't need the enemies being harder to kill. I need what little solace I can get for my psyche. At least I had the riddles set on "normal". Ah well, I'll feel bad about it later. Anyway, I know that there's probably not a lot of video game geeks reading this; but if there is: I'm about to blow one of the endings to Silent Hill 2, you don't want it spoiled, go somewhere else. I have to laugh, no one read down here anyway, if they did I doubt they care about that. Anyway, of course Mary wasn't in the hotel room. An interesting anecdote though was that the letter you received from her was in your inventory the whole game; I looked at it again in the hotel, and it was suddenly blank. I tried to look at it again later, and it was gone, only the envelope remained. But it turns out that Mary didn't die from the disease; James killed her to put her out of her misery. She sort of asked him to. The entire Silent Hill was a creation of his own psyche, to punish himself for the murder he knew he commited but blocked out. And since he was punishing himself so severely(I'm assuming here,) he tapped into hell; which is where Silent Hell comes in; and also was how he was able to meet other people. Eddie(whom I know I didn't mention before) was a murderer, and James had had to kill him. Angela(see above parenthesis) murdered someone; possibly her father or brother; because they raped her, and was sent to hell also. See, the reason this makes sense is that no one is sent to hell, they send themselves there; create it for themselves; and she did that, so she ended up in hell. I think. Maria(again...), who looked excactly like Mary but dressed as a prostitute was a creation of James' imagaination to torture himself as well. It was never explained how Laura was there, but either way James left with her at the end. James killed Maria for good, and then got to speak to Mary one last time. She forgave him and told him to live his life; so he and Laura left Silent Hill. This was one of four endings, so... but I think it was the happy one. Either way this game was amazing, and even if I just blew one ending I recommend it highly. I'll probably type more of it tomorrow, but I'm tired right now, that sleeping pill is catching up to me. All in all I give my experience in Silent Hill high marks; and even though I've finished it now it'll be weeks probably before I stop seeing those bloody nurses everytime I enter a dark room. Have a nice day!