"Pulling Teeth" 2002-08-29 - 10:52 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

You are crime.

The Hives are law.

I was watching the stoopid VMAs on MTV tonight. Mainly to see the Hives and the Vines play. And I did, and it was worth it. The Hives played Main Offender, my favortie song off their album, and afterwords Howlin' Pelle Almqvuist cemented his status as my hero by saying: "I know you want us to play more, but our time is up, so you can tune out now." Which was extra great because MTV made it up to be a "battle of the bands" between the Hives and the Vines(it really wasn't though, because they didn't announce a winner) and the Hives played first. Get it? I can't choose which one I like better, but based solely on lead singers Pelle is God. But before that the show pretty much sucked, especially because Lisa Lopez of TLC got *ANOTHER* tribute. Now I guess she deserves recognition, but not that much. Especially when you compare it to the one MTV news thing they did for Layne Staley, which they aired once at 3 AM. It never fails to piss me off. They found Layne's body the saturday before Lisa Lopez died(that wednesday I believe), but she got hours and hours of tributes on everything music-related, while the only tribute Layne got was the shirt that I made. If I was there I would've stormed the stage while the surviving members of TLC were talking and pointed to my shirt RVD style. It would've been worth getting my ass kicked by security. But I was so pissed off that I feared I was going to freak out again. Stupid fucking MTV. Oh well, think of the Hives... aah, all better. Oh well, as far as stuff that actually matters goes I believe I've made up with Stephanie; and this sunday I'm getting together with Trevor and that drummer finally. I'm going to call Robyn and see if she wants to come. Other than that there's not much to talk about, except that I haven't really done any homework yet this school year. I have an assignment due tomorrow but I'm just going to laugh about it if my teacher asks me. I hate that class, I can never stay awake. I spend the entire first hour trying hard not to fall asleep, too tired to even draw, then the last 40 minutes wishing the class would just bloody end. Oh well, in other stupid news, they had a Best Hip Hop Video category and a Best Rap Video category. Does anyone else see the problem there? Don't get me wrong, I love rap, but you can't have two categories under synonyms for the same genre. Under Rap Eminem won, beating DMX's 'Who We Be', Naz's 'One Mic' and I think a third one that all deserved to win. I like Eminem but I don't think he deserved to beat those songs. And under Hip Hop Jennifer Lopez won. Jennifer bloody Lopez. God I hate her. And to add insult to injury she beat Outkast. I love Outkast. They're like punk rap, it's awesome. And they lost to Jennifer Lopez. It makes me want to go mafia on the MTV executives(ie- give them a "stern talking to" that involves baseball bats and kneecaps). I know I really shouldn't care but stuff like that bothers me. And the worst part is, I was trying to finish learning Anasthesia, the bass solo that half of it was the first thing I learned when I got my bass. Over a year later I'm trying to learn the other half, but of course like a jackass I put on MTV(with the sound off) so I wouldn't miss the Vines and the Hives. And so I got sucked into the stupid show and didn't learn a goddamned thing. Damnit. Oh well, at least I got to see my hero. I despise shallow entries like this. But they only come along when I'm in a good mood, so given the choice between being pissed off and giving a good entry and being happy and giving a shallow entry I guess I'd choose happy. Ah well, I do apologize, gentle readers.