"Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground" 2002-08-14 - 6:38 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

"In the world of sports Mike Tyson bit a man's ear off.

I don't know what all the hoopla is about, I've actually bitten men's ears off on several occasions."

Aaah, Harry Karey is great. And I've figured out the single greatest mascot name ever: Smilin' Joe Fission. He's my hero, and he should be yours. In actual news today, I stayed home sick. I figured I'd save myself the trouble of going there and calling home. The only problem being I'm not really sick anymore, I could've made it through school today; but I figured it usually gets worse, so if I went to school it would just get sick later. But I was wrong. This bothers me because I want to go to school. My inner child is screaming at me now but damnit, I hate missing school early on. Plus I don't get to see everybody. And then there's make-up work, and figuring out how to get my absenses excused. Blah. But in other news Robyn is on board for the Mole People v2.0. Which is beyond groovy. If I could I'd use the way-back dial to go back to the '70s and find a better word, the next level up from 'groovy'. But yeah, that's just awesome. Now the only thing is Evan. It just wouldn't be the same without him. He hasn't responded yet, and I don't know if that's good or bad, but I just wish I could convince him. I think I know what the problem is, but I'm not sure and I have no way to convince him we can fix it, so I just have to cross my fingers and hope against hope. Anyway, in case he reads this/you're curious: I think the problem is that he's started thinking about it like a job, something he has to do rather than wants to; it just stopped being fun. And I have to somehow convince him that it will be fun again. I feel bad that I keep bringing this up after he's said 'no' a bunch of times, but I'm just so sure that it would be fun for all involved again if he'd just agree. And I suppose the best thing to do would be to keep trying to convince him until I get a solid answer, but I feel bad pushing him. And besides, how ass-backwards is it to pressure someone to convince them they'll have fun? Oh well, if he reads this: Evan, I promise it will be fun, please come back. Oh well, I hate to let down Robyn but if Evan doesn't come back I'm not sure I even want to be in a band. Trying out other drummers that we don't know would make it more like a job for me, and I don't want to make a job out of something as fun as playing in a band. I don't know, maybe if we make friends with another drummer or something; but if Evan comes back we won't have to worry about it. Here's hoping. On a lighter note: The more I hear of the White Stripes the more I love them. They've debuted their new video on MTV lately, and it's cool. It's for Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground(the song they played in the middle of Fell in Love With A Girl on the MTV Movie Awards if anyone saw that). I'm picking up their CD this weekend. I've been thinking that I might have to get all blank red and white clothes and get a red bass and go be the third White Stripe, seeing as how they don't have a bassist and all. Maybe if the Mole People revival fails. Ah well, maybe I'll write again later.