"Sober pt. 1" 2002-07-19 - 2:15 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

Man, The Tool concert last night was awesome. They're even better live than they are on CD. For some bands the "studio magic" plays a big part in their sound(I'm looking at you Sum 41) and they don't sound quite as good live. Not Tool, they sound even better live, I couldn't believe it. I couldn't believe I was actually in the same building as, then later was staring at Maynard. It got me into fanboy mode, I couldn't believe it, it was awesome. But before I discuss the actualy Tool part of the show, I should mention Tomahawk, because they opened. Tomahawk sucked. They were terrible. They sounded like Rockbitch if Rockbitch was all guys in cop suits instead of angry lesbians. And Rockbitch is actually good, can't forget that. But I can't say enough bad things about Tomahawk. They had like, two songs that were ok, the rest of their (probably[I didn't have a watch])half hour set sucked. Of course some of that probably had to do wih the lead singer's comment that "You know all cops are gay, right?" And while I don't care much for cops I feel it's pretty sad that these guys still look at 'gay' as an insult, and that the audience cheered for it. Well, some of the audience, the 'general admission' 'seats' on the floor were cheering and all that, the people in the stands, or at least my side of them, hated them just as much as I did. At the end of every song, or at every 'audience participation' thing, the people in the stands were like: "Booo!!" "Tool!!" "You guys suck!" and stuff like that. It made me feel right at home. Ah well, after that 'cops are gay' comment I gave brief thought to one of the cops I had seen patrolling the place jumping up on stage and beating the singer with his nightstick; but after that I zoned out. They might as well have played another half hour of house music. One thing I noticed though, even though the crowd in the center cheered them, it was funny because Tomahawk played really hardcore music, the kind you'd think they'd mosh to, and they were all standing still, waiting for Tool. I found it amusing to count how many people were lighting their cigarattes. I could only laugh. But ah well, I guess that proves Tool didn't choose their opening act. I'd think they'd have better taste in music, and I know they have a more open minded outlook than that. I just wish I had gone with Stephanie so I could've seen Andrew's reaction to that. He was probably digging the set up until that, but who knows, maybe he didn't care. Either way, I'll talk more about the actual concert later.