"Thunderstruck" 2002-07-13 - 5:45 p.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

Hi everybody. My house got struck by lightning last night. It cut off contact between us and the outside world. The phones died, the internet went down(despite the fact that we have cable internet) and the tv's got screwed up. It's weird, you know when if you set your vcr from 'cable' to 'normal' there's only those channels from like 3 to 11 or so that work? Well after the lightning, those were out and everything else was still there, but it was all staticy, you couldn't really see it. To really add insult to injury they debuted Tool's new video for Parabol/Parabola(two songs, same video) on MTV last night, and I know because I was screwing with the wiring to see if I could get it to work and had it on MTV, so I could hear it but I couldn't see the video. That's just annoying. Other bizarre happenings include: my dad's PS2 controller stopped working. The PS2's and all the other controllers still work, but his doesn't. The only reason we can think of was the lightning. And even though the clocks still work, two battery powered clocks me and my dad had in our rooms reset at the moment the lightning struck. It's just odd. The guy came buy and fixed the cable today, so we got the tv's back, and the internet in my parent's room works(where I'm writing this from), but the router or network card or something got fried and now the internet in my room doesn't work, so I won't really be able to get to my e-mail or diary or IM for a while. This prevented me from getting an e-mail Steph sent me last night which made me happy. I sent her an e-mail saying I needed time to get over whatever's going on in my head recently and she responded with "you're the wait". I couldn't figure out what the hell she meant, and read my diary entry titled that over again just to see if that had anything to do with it. So I sent her an e-mail asking what she meant, and she responded last night, but I didn't get to see it until just now, she said: "You're worth the wait". I just sat there staring at the screen for a few moments in happiness. It was great, especially compared to what I was expecting to find in my e-mail. On the other hand Evan still hasn't responded, and I don't want to rush him but I wish he would. I want to start hanging out with him again wether he rejoins or not. In other news my parents had a garage sale, amongst other things they sold the trampoline and my weight set. We're kind of hurting for cash so I didn't get all the money for those things, but between them my cut came to 50 bucks. I would just like to say: sweet. I'm going to save 20 dollars or so for a t-shirt from the Tool concert, but that still leaves me with a pretty good amount of money to spend. Right now I'm thinking it's going to either a Dinosaur Jr. CD or a Killing Joke CD. Amongst other things that I'll find as I go along. I know you don't really care but this could be my last diary entry for a few days so I want to make it nice and long. I can't really think of anything else to say except to check out "Roadhouse Blues" by The Doors. Exceptionally amazing song. And oh yes, Invader Zim is back on. Fridays at 6:30 pm. Don't forget to watch it, we can't let those ratings drop, tell your friends. Anyway, I'll probably be back in a few days but I'll be out of contact until then. So... later I guess.