"So I Says To Mabel, I Says..." 2004-06-05 - 3:43 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

only 10 more days until the killers' album comes out

I can't fucking wait

they even played the first single "Somebody Told Me" on the radio today

I know I bitch sometimes about liking a band and then them going mainstream

[proving I'm just as much of an elitist as those hipster douchebags down at Scrappy's]

but The Killers are so fucking awesome that I don't care if they become the next Led Zeppelin; I love them

I went and saw them live, and was actually in the same Burger King with them before the show[I was even in the bathroom at the same time as like, the bassist or singer; I forget which]; two months before they started to get noticed

and they rock

for those of you too lazy to click on that link and download the single; they sound like New Order had sex with Interpol, and produced The Killers

and they rule

but anyway

speaking of things I heard on the radio today;

apparently Creed broke up

which I'm sure was greeted with much cheering by... well, everyone

but I don't know

I never understood why everyone hated Creed the way they did

sure, they weren't the greatest band in the world

but their older stuff, when they were a little darker[like My Own Prison and One] was actually alright

and given the choice of Creed on one station[when I'm in my crappy, only-has-a-radio van] or New Found Glory on the other; I would choose the station with Creed

apparently the break up was caused by Scott Stapp's drug and alcohol use

now that I understood

when you've got everybody in the world saying your band sucks and you specifically are a douchebag;

I think it'd be real easy to want to be stoned all the time

but oh well

I've probably just earned a note from her saying: "eew, you listened to Creed?"

and kind of disgusted noises from the rest of you

but meh

but speaking of bands that aren't cool; today I was at Suncoast looking for a Velvet Goldmine DVD

and since the Musicals section was right next to the Music Video section; I was right next to this goth couple looking through the DVDs saying:

"nobody cares about Matchbox 20! they've got six thousand Matchbox 20; but no Marilyn Manson!"

which is pretty funny

Marilyn Manson went from being like, the goth musician to being:

"you listen to Marilyn Manson? Go home and do your biology homework 'Azrael'. How did you get your mom to drive you to the mall anyway?"

his music's alright, but the downside to being a novelty act is that once the novelty wears off; kiss your career goodbye

I hope he invested his money

As far as my actual day goes; I went and registered with job services as a condition for my unemployment

in theory they'll help me find a job

but really I'm just expecting that to be a condition of getting my unemployment checks

whatever

I don't even know if I'm eligible for unemployment

I guess I'll find out

I don't have practice again until sunday; and my dad is taking my car to work again tomorrow night

so expect another crappy "opinion" entry tomorrow

Adios Amigos