"Disorder" 2003-10-20 - 3:58 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

I'm not sure what to say

there's a lot of stuff going on inside me

deep stuff

but it's so much easier to gloss over it

to talk about my day

to pay lip-service to my problems

mention them "in passing" as it were, or dance around them

'cause God knows I can't face them in real life

it's so much easier to just sleep all day and kick myself later

but those problems aren't the problems I'm talking about now

thinking about all your problems at once will only make things seem that much worse

but now that I've mentioned them; it's hard to get them out of my head

"try to spend the next thirty seconds not thinking about a baby polar bear" and all that

I don't know

I'm pretty sure that's not even what he said

or even if it was Dostoyevski who said it

but that's irrelevant right now

what I mean is:

would talking about my problems do anything?

would it cause anyone to do anything other than shake their heads or acknowledge the fact that I am indeed troubled?

although I guess I'm not really looking for help from others

because I don't know who could help me

for the things I need help with there is no one to help you

at some point everyone with serious problems is faced with a dilemma:

will you face your problems and try and fix them?

or will you kill yourself?

and you can phrase it a thousand different ways

and turn those two options into a hundred more

but really it all boils down to that

face your problems or flee from them

but there's no guarantee death would let you flee or not

for all we know that would just make you end up as a tree in the Suicide Groves of Hell

I don't believe in hell

but I don't know for sure

but I do know that when I think about suicide

I think about those panels from Sandman; when Dream goes to hell to get his helm back from a demon

of those withered trees with faces

the little voice bubbles that say: "the pain was supposed to stop..."

I don't know

I also think about the statistics

something like 60% of everyone who attempts suicide will eventually succeed

I'm not strong enough now

but who's to say for ten years from now? or even next week?

but I'm not suicidal right now

it's just one of those things I think about

especially when I'm feeling down

right now I've got someone I wanna live for

but I'm not sure if she wants me to live for her

and I wonder a lot; what would happen if she decided she didn't want me to live for her?

would I be strong enough then?

but that's not my problem

one of my problems is: does she know?

should I just say her name?

someone perceptive enough could figure out who I'm talking about

but by not saying it it leaves room for doubt

so that she can think to herself:

"was he talking about me?"

for the rest of the day and get all worried

kinda like the last entry of her diary did to me

but I'm worried if I do say it she'll tell me she thinks I'm creepy and obsessive and to fuck off

the same thing I've been worried about since day one

I don't know

I'm just a barrel of fun

there was something else too

problems with video games that of course link to something much deeper

but even with the link to the deeper stuff,

talking about video games after that seems kinda shallow

but why?

it's not like I actually said anything

I did the same thing we all do

talk about "her" or "him" or "they"

never actually come out and say what we mean

because that would make us face our problems

and in the end; if we could do that we wouldn't be typing in these diaries

or maybe we would; but it would be funny shit like porktornado or those other funny diaries out there

and I wonder;

does everyone have these problems?

is everyone else just strong and the reason these problems fuck with us so bad is because we're weak?

or are these problems exclusive to us?

they say it's wiring; in the brain

we're wired wrong so we can't deal as well

some people get molested as children and go on to lead normal; productive lives and write books that are an inspiration to others

some people lead pretty average lives and grow their hair out long and listen to depressing music and type in a diary about how they can't handle life

what's that guy say in the Big Lebowski?

"aww shoot; look at me gettin' all philosophical"

like I know what the fuck I'm talking about

I'm just another guy with long hair who listens to depressing music and bitches about how life is too hard

Stop The World, I Want To Get Off

I've been waiting for a guide to come and take me by the hand

Could these sensations make me feel the pleasures of a normal man?

These sensations barely interest me for another day

I've got the spirit, lose the feeling, take the shock away

It's getting faster, moving faster now, it's getting out of hand

On the tenth floor, down the backstairs, it's a no man's land

Lights are flashing, cars are crashing, getting frequent now

I've got the spirit, lose the feeling, let it out somehow

What means to you, what means to me, and we will meet again

I'm watching you, I'm watching her, I'll take no pity from your friends

Who is right, who can tell, and who gives a damn right now

Until the spirit new sensation takes hold, then you know

I've got the spirit, but lose the feeling

I've got the spirit, but lose the feeling,

Feeling,

feeling,

feeling,

feeling,

feeling,

feeling,

feeling

-Disorder

Joy Divison