"(White Man) In Hammersmith Palais" 2002-12-24 - 12:40 a.m.

older - previous - next - profile - host - my band - my lj

it's now Christmas Eve

the day I've been waiting for

kind of Bittersweet though

Bitter:

1) Joe Strummer of the Clash has died.

I never really got into the Clash as much as I really wanted to, but you can't deny they're influence on music, and their impact on how music can relate to politics.

U2 and Rage Against the Machine both owe their methods to the Clash's example. Not to mention the countless other bands who have been influenced by both the Clash's political commentary, and their methods of mixing early punk-rock with other styles such as reggae(to name one).

Joe Strummer

Another Dead Hero

1952-2002

and on a more personal note: 2)Robyn's schedule has been changed. Instead of working 4-10, which would've worked out fine; she's now working 11-4:30.

Which puts a serious damper on our plans

everyone has to be home later in the evening; and I'm pretty sure Evan has to be at a dinner at 5, which doesn't leave a whole lot of time for presents. Things'll be close if they work out at all. But I'm gonna try.

If worse comes to worse(and they can't wait around for Robyn), then me and Steph and Evan can just get together and exchange our gifts, then exchange gifts with Robyn the day after Christmas

it'll suck, but that's the way it might have to be

ah, well

Sweet:

1) IT'S FUCKIN' CHRISTMAS EVE!!

there's only 12 or so hours until we get together for our friend Christmas

this is gonna be cool

hopefully

but yeah

I don't know which outweighs the other

I wish I could go to sleep so I could just get the day started; but I'm much too excited to sleep.

Shit

I'll just have to try

yeah, Sweet Dreams all

and RIP Joe

Midnight to six man

For the first time from Jamaica

Dillinger and Leroy Smart

Delroy Wilson, your cool operator

Ken Boothe for UK pop reggae

With backing bands sound systems

And if they've got anything to say

There's many black ears here to listen

But it was Four Tops all night with encores from stage right

Charging from the bass knives to the treble

But onstage they ain't got no roots rock rebel

Onstage they ain't got no...roots rock rebel

Dress back jump back this is a bluebeat attack

'Cos it won't get you anywhere

Fooling with your guns

The British Army is waiting out there

An' it weighs fifteen hundred tons

White youth, black youth

Better find another solution

Why not phone up Robin Hood

And ask him for some wealth distribution

Punk rockers in the UK

They won't notice anyway

They're all too busy fighting

For a good place under the lighting

The new groups are not concerned

With what there is to be learned

They got Burton suits, ha you think it's funny

Turning rebellion into money

All over people changing their votes

Along with their overcoats

If Adolf Hitler flew in today

They'd send a limousine anyway

I'm the all night drug-prowling wolf

Who looks so sick in the sun

I'm the white man in the Palais

Just lookin' for fun

I'm only

Looking for fun

-(White Man) In Hammersmith Palais

The Clash